Busy Little Bee

Happy Tuesday! πŸ™‚

Hope your week is going well.

Mine has been crazy busy! I work full time (40ish hours a week) and between work, marathon training, reality television, eating entire pints of Ben and Jerrys,Β  and life in general… I haven’t had a second to sit down and relax in the past couple of days!

Week 2 of Marathon Training is officially underway!

 

 

Yesterday’s workout was a nice little break after 2 straight days of running 8 and 5 miles.

Cross-Training!

By taking a cross-training-based approach to training, you can run a lifetime-best marathon on just three or four runs a week. Incorporating non-impact cardio workouts and functional strength workouts into your program will reduce your chances of getting injured not only by limiting your running mileage, but also by increasing the stability of your joints (as joint instability is the primary cause of most running injuries).

Source

 

I’ve made it a point to include both cross-training and pilatesΒ  in my marathon training plan because I don’t want to lose any strength, or succumb to injuries along the way. (And because in Pilates you spend 60 minutes either lying down or sitting… which in my opinion is an excellent way to take an exercise class!) πŸ˜‰

Aside from the fact that cross-training is seriously important for building up non-running muscles, it helps me to avoid burnout from running so darn much lately.

Don’t get me wrong, I love to run… but I’m no Kara Goucher.

Although we do look identical when we run.

 

I ended up doing 30 minutes on the bike (Hill Program, Level 10) and then 25 minutes on the Elliptical (Incline 20, Resistance 9) before doing 3 sets of TRX planks… and then calling it a day.

I had a baseball game to get to!

My dad gave boyfriend and I his tickets to last night’s game and the seats did not disappoint!

 

I'm fully aware of the iPhone quality photo we're dealing with here.

 

Sadly the Giants couldn’t pull it together and ended up losing big time (I’ve since erased that game from memory) but it was a great time in great seats nonetheless!

Off to get some work done… hope you’re having a great week!

 

Do you work full time and keep up a blog?

What are you most looking forward to this week?

14 thoughts on “Busy Little Bee

  1. Sweet seats! I’ve been doing a lot of game-memory-erasing when it comes to the giants. Tear πŸ˜₯

    I work full time and keep up the blog but THANK GOODNESS nicole is there to help me. I can easily get overwhelmed and not want to blog (like yesterday, when I finished off a pint of Ben&Jerry’s myself!! and was late to work so I had to drive instead of carpool, ugh sucky.) I didn’t get in any exercise so I’m kinda cranky. Hopefully today will turn things around πŸ™‚

  2. Yes, I work full-time and I like to think I keep up a blog πŸ˜‰ but I usually only post about 3-4 times a week.

    I need to get to a baseball game sometime too – haven’t been yet this season!

  3. Great seats for the game! I’m so upset over the Giants the last few weeks. I hate to see them lose. Boo!
    Working full time while keeping up the blog is so hard. But I love my blog and would totally miss it now if I didn’t do it. Such a great outlet!

  4. I am not working full time at the moment, so my schedule is super flexible, but I start school soon so that will all be changing!

    I’m looking forward to my first real photography job this week! πŸ™‚

  5. You are doing so GREAT at preparing for your marathon! I’d pat you on the back if I could! YOU GO GIRL!!!! …..I bet the game was fun, after seeing how SF supports the team, it couldn’t not be fun! I do have a fulltime job, work on the blog, workout, and try to be a good wife all in a day. Some days it’s easier than others…..

  6. I have NO doubt you look exactly like Kara Goucher when you run. πŸ˜‰ When I’m sprinting or logging lots of miles and feeling beat, I pretend that I’m in the Olympics racing for gold. Super cheesy, I know, but I swear it makes me go faster and stronger! Haha

    Wow, amazing seats at the Giants game! Your dad is one nice guy. πŸ™‚ When I was in third grade (back in the good ol’ Candlestick days), I was chosen to run the bases in between innings. It was one of the most exciting things I’d ever done, and I got to shake hands with the players afterwards! I haven’t been to a game in the new stadium, but am hoping to go this year!

    You’re rocking your marathon training, girl! Keep up the good work! xoxoxo

  7. I feel ya on the full-time work, never have a second to myself sentiment. But then again, I feel like if I did have a spare hour to kill, I would get bored! As long as you enjoy the things that keep you busy, you might as well keep at it.

Leave a Reply

