It’s a New Day

Hope your Thursday is going well!

This morning, I didn’t wake up until this glorious time:

Yes, my alarm was set for 6:15am so I could crank out my 3-miles on my training plan, and yes, I hit snooze about 9 times.

And I didn’t regret a minute of it.

I went to bed feeling like this:

And woke up this morning like this (yes, royal and all with perfect hair):

I noticed yesterday that (aside from the fatal error of drinking a venti black coffee on an empty stomach) I’m not used to (or cut out for) waking up at 6am, running 5 miles, and then being a functioning part of society for the next 9-10 hours.

I was exhausted, crabby, stressed out and felt pretty defeated at the end of the day. Did I mention I was starving?

Luckily that’s nothing that quality time with boyfriend, episodes of Project Runway and Rizzoli and Isles On-Demand (watched before boyfriend got home from work – I don’t subject him to my terrible taste in television), talking to my mom, a box of macaroni and cheese and 8 hours of solid sleep can’t fix.

I woke up this morning feeling refreshed and ready to go! (Or as much as one can feel that at 7:15am.)

But I realized I needed to make some changes to my training, sleep schedule, etc to avoid getting stressed and burnt-out by week 3! (In case you were wondering we’re 17 weeks and 3 days to marathon!)

  • Problem: Going to bed at 11pm, running 5 miles at 6am and then hauling my booty to the gym for an hour pilates class at lunch isn’t feasible, and just isn’t going to happen when I’m training hard the other 6 days of the week
  • Solution: Going to bed earlier before AM runs, and fitting in pilates a couple of times a week when I can (on rest/recovery/short run days), but not sticking to a strict schedule. I’m going to look at other studios closer to home as well so I’m not rushing around like a crazy person trying to fit it all in on a specific schedule. (Added bonus: No gym showers!)

Time to finish up the work day before completing Day 4 of Marathon Training… and Day 1 with the Garmin!

How much sleep do you need to function?

Are you ever guilty of doing too much?

Favorite Mean Girls character?

Mind was always Karen Smith (Amanda Seyfried) – she was hysterical!

8 thoughts on “It’s a New Day

  1. I sleep 9:30 – 4:50 – pretty sure that makes me elderly….BUT I have to get up in time to workout and make it to work by 7:30.

    I try not to be guilty of doing too much 🙂

  2. I always love your pop culture pics, but the butter comparison might be my new fave! Paula’s face is classic! Good for you for sleeping in today! Sometimes that is definitely necessary! I definitely do not get enough sleep at night– I usually average 5-6 and my body would love 8-9. And what ever happened to that brunette in Mean Girls? Did she ever go on to do anything??

  3. I need about 7 hours of sleep to function properly. Taking on too much is the story of my life, but after realizing that I need consistent exercise in my life, I’ve gotten used to getting up at 5am to get it all done (I didn’t used to get up until 8am every morning). Now I can’t sleep past 6, even on weekends!

  4. I need like 8 hours. Seriously. All thru college I lived on an average of 4.5 or 5 with at least an all nighter once every ten days or something… now I’m EXHAUSTED on 6! Sometimes I can get up and work out but lately I can’t even drag myself out of bed. It’s really hard to find that balance.

  5. That’s funny, because I wrote a post today about sleep too! I am used to getting at least 8 almost 9 hours of sleep, but now with training and weights I get about seven to seven and a half and it’s not cutting it. I was so exhausted today. I don’t think I’m doing too much or pushing too hard though. Maybe I’ll get used to it after a few more weeks.

Leave a Reply

