Rise and Shine

Well, well, well.

Look who got her booty out of bed at 5:50am this morning to knock out the 5 miles on her training plan.

This girl.

I can count the number of times I’ve woken up to workout before work on one hand, so this was a big deal.

And so worth it.

Feels so good to be done with my run for the day before it even starts!

The Stats?

Yes, it occurred to me that I went way, way too fast.

I bought headphones over the weekend at Marshalls because the iPhone ear buds always fall out of my ears when I run… and when it’s windy? Forget it, no chance.

I went for the Skull Candy Chops (Any more hardcore and I’d have Beats by Dre) because they were $9 and quite honestly, they match my iPod shuffle. (Judge all you want for my reasoning 😉 ) They didn’t budge the entire run and stayed firmly in place….amazing!

The only downside? I can’t control my music with the push of a button on the headphones (like I can with the Apple earbuds) so I need to clean up the running playlist a bit.

Highly recommend these for the sound quality, comfort and price!

 

Coincidentally my run ended a mere 25 feet from Starbucks. Weird, I know.

So rather than brew my own coffee (yes the 90 seconds I’d have to wait for my Keurig to get me a cup was just too much), I decided that 5 miles before 7am warranted Starbucks doing the brewing.

Enter Venti Black Coffee.

 

 

Also enter that my judgment was clearly clouded by thirst and hunger because drinking a venti black coffee on an empty stomach after a 5-mile run is not a good idea.

I felt severely light-headed on the bus and was literally willing it to drive faster.

So that I could drink this little beauty.

I’m not sure how, but it didn’t look like sludge today even with 2 handfuls of spinach! It was an awesome purple color.

  • 1 c 1% milk
  • Splash of unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • Frozen banana
  • Frozen blueberries
  • 1 heaping scoop Elite vanilla whey protein powder
  • 2 handfuls spinach

Quick tip: We’ve started buying bananas by the XL bundle so that we can freeze most of them – makes smoothies so much creamier and tastier. Just peel, slice in half, and throw in a freezer bag and you’ve got instant (almost!) frozen fruit!

Off to get some work done, hope you have a great Wednesday! 🙂

 

What is the running gadget you can’t live without?

9 thoughts on “Rise and Shine

  1. I have a Nike winter hat that has these like little speakers in the ears and plugs into the iPod. It’s sweat-wicking and so comfy and I don’t get that “hat is jamming the earbuds way to far in” feeling. It was also a Marshall’s find for like $7. And the best part? It’s easy to take the speakers out to throw the hat in the wash!

    My morning smoothie was frozen banana with peanut butter (TJ’s, unsalted) and soy protein (TJ’s, vanilla), and skim milk. Yummm!

    • That smoothie sounds SO good! I may need one after work today!

      I love Marshalls! If I’m willing to look I always find some goods there! That hat sounds awesome… I think I’ll need something to keep the ears warm this winter!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. thats awesome nice run! i hate getting up early for runs but am always glad i do!! i love using Nike plus with my ipod…the only downside is you have to have an ipod and nike shoes haha soo ya. but its awesome i love it!

  3. Getting up at 5am is so hard to get used to, especially since the sun isn’t up yet. Good job on the 5 miles!

    I totally can’t live without my Garmin. It keeps me on pace and I love the freedom that it gives me in that I can run anywhere and know exactly how far I’ve gone.

  4. Awesome run, Kristine! I have a tendency to go way too fast too…I actually think running faster is easier. I know, weiirddd… 🙂

    My must-have gadget is definitely my iPod. When I go sans music, my run feels 4728492 times longer. I end up singing to myself, which is bad news…for me and everyone around me! Haha

    Frozen bananas are the best…Have you tried banana soft serve?

Leave a Reply

