Omega-3’s. It’s Whats For Dinner

2 days of Marathon Training under my belt, 17 weeks and 5 days to go!

I got this. (Please sense the sarcasm here.)

I completed my 3 miles on the treadmill today because I really wanted to get some conditioning and strengthening in afterwards and figured I’d kill 2 birds with 1 stone.

Don’t worry, I don’t plan on doing any runs aside from the occasional 3-4 milers on the treadmill (about once a week) when I want to also get conditioning in… doing one shorter, recovery run on the dreadmill is worth it to get those muscles toned up!

I also finished “Stories I Only Tell My Friends” by Rob Lowe (absolutely fantastic – review coming soon!) and started “In Defense of Food” by Michael Pollan… and I’m so interested already! (and even more in love with my Kindle than before.)

In short:

Michael Pollan poses his most salient question: where is the food in our food? What follows in In Defense of Food is a series of wonderfully clear and thoughtful answers that help us omnivores navigate the nutritional minefield that’s come to typify our food culture. Many processed foods vie for a spot in our grocery baskets, claiming to lower cholesterol, weight, glucose levels, you name it. Yet Pollan shows that these convenient “healthy” alternatives to whole foods are appallingly inconvenient: our health has a nation has only deteriorated since we started exiling carbs, fats–even fruits–from our daily meals. His razor-sharp analysis of the American diet (as well as its architects and its detractors) offers an inspiring glimpse of what it would be like if we could (a la Humpty Dumpty) put our food back together again and reconsider what it means to eat well. In a season filled with rallying cries to lose weight and be healthy, Pollan’s call to action—”Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants.”–is a program I actually want to follow. —Source

 

**********

This evening boyfriend and I made our weekly Trader Joe’s run and I’m not lying when I say we are stocked!

Tons of food to make some seriously delicious meals with.

Tonight’s feast?

Balsamic and Lime Salmon, Cheesey Quinoa, and Steamed Edamame!

So, so easy.

We marinated the salmon for about 30 minutes (thanks for the tip Mom!) in balsamic vinegar, fresh squeezed lime juice, lemon pepper and olive oil and then baked it at 390* for 20 minutes.

While it was baking we boiled the water for the edamame and reheated the quinoa (I doubled the serving size last week it’s lasted us a good 5 meals – amazing!) and mixed mozarella cheese in.

That’s it.

Delicious!

Time to go watch Chopped! Alex Guarnaschelli is serving up sass with a side of attitude piping hot tonight!

Have a lovely night! 🙂

 

What’s your favorite Food Network Show?

I LOVE Chopped, Giada (mozz-uh-rrrrrellllla!), The Barefoot Contessa, and Paula Deen (3 sticks of butter per recipe, minimum. No exceptions.)

 

12 thoughts on “Omega-3’s. It’s Whats For Dinner

  1. oh my gosh, i’m soooo sad to be MIA for so long, internet issues, but i’m trying to play catch-up here and fix that!! first off CONGRATS on day two of marathon training, and u need to chuck that sarcasm out the window, mmmk?!?! u CAN do it, and trust me…i say if oprah can anyone can….lol. plus, with all that cross training with sprinting from the laundry room after being ‘that girl’ u’ll be speedy!! but one thing, don’t look too far ahead at the workout sked. look only at today, keep doing that, and u’ll get there. don’t try to freak urself out by looking months in the future. 😉 ummm, and yum yum on din din! 🙂

  2. I really want some salmon now…maybe I’ll have to pick some up for dinner – that looks fantastic! And I used to love Chopped, too…but for some reason when i was pregnant it made me really queasy (all the weird foods they used) and then we got rid of our cable TV…waaaah.

  3. Oh can’t wait for your review about the Rob Lowe book! And I haven’t read In Defense of Food, but I would like to! I really liked his Food Rules, so I’ll have to look into this one! And that looks like a great meal!

  4. I just finished the Rob Lowe book too — and I thought it was “eh.” I think it was well written and I’m surprised at how smart he truly is (pretty boys get a bad rep!), but I thought he glossed over a lot. I don’t know – guess it just didn’t do for me 🙂

    I definitely need to read In Defense of Food though!

Leave a Reply

