(Healthy) Chicken Fingers!

Day 1 of Marathon Training is complete…. only 17 weeks and 6 days to go! Oh dear.

Today’s Workout?

Cross-training!

Mat Pilates + 45 minutes Elliptical (Resistance 9, Incline 20) 

I am now 97% of the way through Stories I Only Tell My Friends by Rob Lowe and cannot recommend it enough. It is fantastic!

Post-gym, I stopped by the grocery store to get some essentials for dinner tonight, did 4 loads of laundry (worth $20 in quarters apparently) and watched the most frustrating Giants game in history. (I’m sorry I just can’t watch the Bachelorette and see Ashley whine and ooze insecurity for 1-2 hours a week. I just can’t. Drunk Jillian is a totally different story.)

**********

I wanted to make something easy for dinner that’s always a hit in our household so I went with an old favorite:

Courtney’s Baked Parmesan Chicken Tenders!

 

 

 

 

Fun Fact: Long ago these were actually the first recipe I had ever made from a blog, and Courtney’s blog was the first blog I’d ever read… and all it took was a google search for healthy baked chicken!

Ingredients

  • Boneless chicken tenders
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/4 cup skim milk
  • 1 tsp minced garlic (omitted the garlic this time)
  • 1/3 cup plain breadcrumbs
  • 1/3 cup Panko breadcrumbs
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese (it was more of a parmesan/romano blend but delicious!)
  • 1/2 tbsp dried basil
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme

 

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Mix together the egg white, milk, and garlic. In another bowl, mix together both breadcrumbs, Parmesan cheese, basil, salt, and thyme.

Dip chicken tenders into wet bowl first, then coat with the breadcrumb mixture. Place the well-coated tenders in a single layer on a cooling rack placed on top of baking sheet. (Imperative to get the crunchiness!)

Bake tenders for 20 minutes. Then, turn oven up to broil and broil tenders 5 minutes longer, until nice and crispy.

Beyond tasty. One of my all-time favorite (and easy!) recipes.

We enjoyed ours with BBQ Sauce and Dijon Mustard on the side, as well as a fresh fruit “salad” of strawberries and blueberries.

For some more sustenance, I mixed up goat cheese, a bit of balsamic vinegar and left over quinoa for boyfriend.

 

I definitely recommend making these – they’re fast, easy, healthy and delicious! (Although we devoured every last one so no leftovers this time!) 

Time to relax and get into bed – I’m exhausted!

 

What did you have for dinner tonight?

Do you like Mondays or dread them?

6 thoughts on “(Healthy) Chicken Fingers!

  1. Oh these look so delicious! And easy enough for me to make too! Love that now I know that it was a very conscious decision not to use ketchup with those chicken fingers! 😉 I was lazy last night and didn’t feel like cooking, so I ordered Greek food and it was delicious!

Leave a Reply

