Full House + Mrs. Doubtfire

Hope your Saturday is going well!

Once we were sufficiently stuffed from our protein packed breakfast, we hit the road for some errands!

Boyfriend wanted to pick up some fresh sashimi from the sushi market in Japantown, Nijiya.

If you are a sushi (sashimi) lover, this is your place. Sooo many kinds of sashimi grade fish! (And at a steal!)

Then (after some You-Tubing and Googling last night) we were shocked to find out that the actual “Full House” house wasn’t where we thought it was (by the Painted Ladies- a group of houses across from Alamo Square Park) after all these years.

Painted ladies is a term used for Victorian and Edwardian houses and buildings painted in three or more colors that embellish or enhance their architectural details Source

So naturally we had to go find it.

The Opening Credits in Alamo Square Park in front of the Painted Ladies (the row of houses):

(Yes I’m right there with you on the quality, but it’s for location’s sake only)

Actual Alamo Square Park with Painted Ladies:

The Tanner’s House:

Doing my best Michelle Tanner.

Notice anything different?

The actual “Full House” house is actually no where near the Painted Ladies, or the opening scene of the show.

The house is located at 1709 Broderick Street (between Pine and Bush).

The opening scene (and Painted Ladies which are definitely worth seeing are actually on Steiner St between Grove and Hayes).

We had always assumed it was right where they shot the scene, so when we found out otherwise, we had to find it for ourselves! (And take awkward tourist pictures while we were at it!)

Want more TV/Movie Locations?

Continue on Steiner towards the water and you’ll hit the corner of Broadway and Steiner, 2640 Steiner St in Pacific Heights.

You’ll find yourself right in front of the Hillard’s house from one of my all-time favorite movies…

Mrs. Doubtfire!

“My name? Doubtfire.”

“I beg your pardon?”

“Doubtfire dear. Mrs. Doubtfire.” 

After all of that SF movie location photography it was time to re-fuel. Since we just so happened to be around the corner from a self-serve fro-yo place (I’m sure it was fate) I needed an afternoon pick-me-up.

I’m going to need to start getting this at least once a day. Vanilla and PB fro-yo with graham cracker dust, rainbow sprinkles and yogurt chips. Perfection.

And gone way, way too fast.

Time to quench our thirst with a couple of Kona Longboard Lagers while we watch the end of the Giants games (realllly hoping they can stage a comeback!)

Last year when we vacationed in Hawaii with my family we went for lunch at the Kona Brewing Company and bought a variety pack of Kona beers at Costco and have been hooked ever since. It’s far and away my all-time favorite beer and I can’t wait to go back!

Every time I drink one it reminds me of being in Hawaii and relaxing after a long (and obviously taxing) day at the beach. 😉

Enjoy your Saturday evening!

17 thoughts on “Full House + Mrs. Doubtfire

  1. longboards are my absolute fave 🙂

    and, as a born and raised san franciscan, i am ashamed to admit that i had no idea the actual house was not part of the painted ladies!!! good fun fact 🙂

  2. I LOVE that y’all scouted out SF filming locations for such classic movies!! For some reason I never got around to that, but I totally have to see at least the Tanners’ house next time I’m in SF!! And I think that’s close to where I lived (a few houses down from Walnut + Clay!) Hope all is well in SF — looks lovely as usual!! 🙂

  3. Longboard lagers are so so good and totally one of my favorites too! My husband and I always buy these when we want to be transported back to our times in Maui. There’s nothing like having a nice cold one while sitting at the Hula Grill in Kaanapali. Ahhh…cheers to beer that bring back such great memories!

  4. I knew it! I knew it!!! …..The Tanners were just eating in the park, not near their house! I still want to have a picnic or AT LEAST a picture where the Tanners had their picnic!
    Are the two places far apart?!?
    I LOVE how you did this post….. Oh, and the sushi place looks great, sorry, the Full House info just stole the post for me!

  5. Pingback: Movie Night! « runningonhungrydotcom

Leave a Reply

