Spice Up Your Life

Not only did I own the CD, I also owned the movie. On VHS. One step further? I still have (multiple) Spice Girls songs on my running playlists. Nope, still not embarrassed.

 

 

HAPPY FRIDAY!!

The 2nd happiest day of the week (Saturday taking top-billing here), is finally upon us.

The sun even decided to show up today… it’s like it knows the significance of its presence over a weekend.

Breakfast

Would it shock any of you to hear that I inhaled a smoothie (surprise surprise) as usual today?

I swear I had good intentions to turn some leftover quinoa into “oatmeal” and add some delicious toppings. But, as usual – the promise of fruits, veggies, protein, and the general deliciousness of the smoothie, won out.

  • 1 c 1% Milk
  • Heaping scoop vanilla Elite whey protein powder
  • Handful spinach
  • Frozen strawberries
  • Frozen blueberries
  • Cinnamon
I swear the cinnamon makes all the difference.
Did you know aside from being my most favorite spice on this planet it has some surprising health benefits?
  • Studies have shown that just 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon per day can lower LDL cholesterol.
  • Cinnamon may have a regulatory effect on blood sugar
  • Cinnamon has an anti-clotting effect on the blood
  • When added to food, it inhibits bacterial growth and food spoilage, making it a natural food preservative.
  • It is a great source of manganese, fiber, iron, and calcium.

My favorite things to put cinnamon in/on? Sliced apples, oatmeal, smoothies, PB Sandwiches, cookies, breads, pancakes, french toast, waffles, and…. well ok almost anything really! 🙂

Including these:

Workout

Since I totally neglected to share last night’s workout… I decided that since my quads were as useless as Hugh Hefner’s Ex that a long power walk to the Golden Gate Bridge and back with my lovely friend Lexi was in order. Overall we covered ~6 miles, had some great girltalk time, and my legs feel good as new this morning!

Sometimes backing off and slowing down is just what you need.

 

With that, I’m off to meet boyfriend for lunch! Apparently lunch dates and myself are likethis these days!

 

What’s your favorite spice?

What’s on your playlist that you’re not even a little bit embarrassed about?

(I have Bieber, Glee, Taylor Swift… you name it, I have it!)

4 thoughts on “Spice Up Your Life

  1. Thank you for getting Spice Girls stuck in my head… suppose I should just go ahead and find some to listen to 😉

    I have some Wilson Philips and Ace of Base…and lots of Glee…

  2. I don’t have any spice girls but going to add some asap, i don’t even know how many times i watched spice world….i still think its a great movie! Cinnamon is the best spice, it perks up anything boring….coffee, oatmeal, pumpkin etc….

  3. I love cinnamon and eat it in LARGE amounts! ….I have it in my desk at school at all times and at home (should probably carry it in my purse! HA!)
    I’m an old school girl, I understand…. I have a lot of 80’s and 90’s stuff but the 80’s are my FAV!

Leave a Reply

