Gym Bag Must-Haves

And just when I think I’m getting good at Pilates, it rears it’s ugly, toned head and knocks me down a peg or 2.

Thank you Pilates, I needed that today.

Whenever I think about my lunchtime workouts, the thing that stresses me out the most is without a doubt, the gym shower that follows and getting ready in the dreaded locker room.

I find that when I come prepared, things go a lot smoother, and there’s a lot less “even though I showered, I still feel disgusting” moments. (Although they still happen daily for me and the first thing I do when I get home after work is take a shower from my shower!) 😉

Must-Haves? (For a germo-phobe like me!)

  • Shower Shoes. Hello Freshman year in college! I will not set foot in a locker room unless my I’m wearing sandals. I have intense fears of what is lurking on the floor in there. I use Havianas Slims – they’re easy to transport, comfortable, and easy to dry before they get packed up in my gym bag again! (Obviously in a separate plastic bag!)

(And they're frequently on Gilt, Rue La La, etc at 50% off!) Or you know, Costco carries them too!

  • Body Cream (Lotion)

Nothing says dry-skin faster than a post-workout shower. I always keep a travel-sized bottle of lotion in my gym bag for moments like this. My skin for some reason always feels super dry post workout and then post shower. At home I use Trader Joe’s Moisturing lotion (I was skeptical too, but it works!) but my gym stocks Kiehls Creme de Corps body lotion and I’m obsessed with it when I’m there. It’s thick without being greasy, doesn’t require much to slather on, and makes your skin feel soft, for hours on end.

A lot of department stores will give you samples for free!

  • Face Lotion

I swear by Cetaphil Daily Facial Moisturizer with SPF 15. It goes on light, isn’t greasy, and has some SPF protection (for those rare occasions the sun decides to come out in SF).

Drugstore staple.

  • Gym Bag

I’m the first to admit for the last few mos I was guilty of throwing all my gym stuff into my Longchamp tote and schleppin’ it to the gym every day. Then I wisened up. I found this little bad boy on Zappos for $35 and it’s PERFECT. The strap can be lengthened to cross-body length, it has just enough room for all my gym stuff, and then a huge front pocket for toiletries, hairbrush, lotions, make-up, etc.

  • Headbands (and the occasional bobby pin)!

I was not blessed to have hair that dries straight and beautiful naturally so I am forced to give in to the ballet bun. Nothing helps accomplish this (and the awkward grow-out phase my bangs are currently in) better than elastic headbands!

Subtle enough to not look like you just came from the gym, and does the trick!

What are your gym bag staples?

6 thoughts on “Gym Bag Must-Haves

  1. I love all of your gym bag stuff! Flip flops are a must if you’re going to use the gym showers haha. I don’t really take much in my gym bag because I don’t shower there. So, I just have my iPod, headphones, my water, and a sweat towel.

  2. Awesome list!! In addition to those items, I always keep extra deodorant, Bliss exfoliating face wash, Burt’s Bees lip balm, and a BPA-free water bottle!

Leave a Reply

