Cookie Dough Rolls

Hope you had a lovely Tuesday night!

We spent ours toasting our lovely friend Kendall’s birthday at a delicious sushi bar, Umami!

I love Umami but don’t go nearly enough (as in I can’t even remember the last time we went there!) The ambiance is awesome, it gets packed, the sushi is fresh and delicious and the happy hour menu is amazing, and doesn’t break the bank!

All rolls $5? I'll take one of each.

We started off by taking full advantage of the Happy Hour drinks menu… 50% off any bottle of wine!

We went for the 2008 Rodney Strong Cab and it was great!

Apparently, 2008 was a great year. But not to be confused with 2007 which took the cake. Who knew? 😉

Boyfriend and I started off by splitting an order of sliders – seasoned kobe beef, spicy aioli, crispy shallots & gingered pickles (which were promptly removed) on steamed buns (think steamed dumplings… but as buns. ohmygod.)

From there we attacked the sushi rolls!

I went for the Rock n Roll (eel, cucumber, avocado with sweet eel sauce) while boyfriend went with the Alaska (salmon, avocado & cucumber), Spicy Tuna, and Spicy Hamachi.

Can you tell who is the more adventurous one with food here? 😉 Hint, it’s not me!

I also successfully used chopsticks, unassisted for the first time in my life. 

No I’m not embarrassed to say that boyfriend and I concoct chopstick “training wheels”, not to be confused with the actual “beginner chopsticks” I have at the apartment. 😉

Please don't judge me.

All of the sushi was delicious, fresh, and so filling! Being a birthday celebration, we had to have dessert!

Cupcakes were passed around to share from the delicious Susiecakes!

But I was saving my dessert appetite for the main event.

THE COOKIE DOUGH ROLL

Vanilla bean gelato wrapped with chocolate chip cookie dough, topped with chopped peanuts & drizzled with chocolate & caramel sauces

Without a doubt the best dessert I have ever tasted at a restaurant. Gelato wrapped in cookie dough. 

Tell me it gets better than this. I dare you. 😉

It was a wonderful night with great friends, great conversation, great food and great drinks!

Happy Birthday Kendall!

Action Shot!

Hope you had a great night! 🙂

16 thoughts on “Cookie Dough Rolls

  1. Umm, I am SO not taking your dare! When I’m in San Francisco next, not only are we going to get coffee at Philz, we’re GOING to dive head first into a cookie dough roll at Umani.

    Congrats on using chopsticks sans training wheels! I grew up in California and have been eating Chinese and Japanese food since I was one, yet still can’t pick up sushi with chopsticks. Sooo embarrassing. :-p

    And oh my goodness I love eel. Has your boyfriend tried it? I was super hesitant, but ever since forcing it into my mouth the very first time, we’ve been pretty tight. 🙂

  2. Oh wow! Just looking at food like this gets me excited for a few days of food I can’t get around here! SF here we come! 🙂 You are very adventurous when it comes to the food, go you. I’m a safe eater…. Oh the ending to this post, wow! Looks soooo good! Best? WOW!

  3. Oh I’m right there with you… I love Umami but I haven’t been in SUCH a long time! And I had forgotten all about that dessert- but omg now it’s all coming back how delicious it is! That and Susie cakes? AMAZING.

Leave a Reply

