Been Doing It Wrong The Entire Time

Goood morning! Happy Tuesday!

It looks like January outside in SF at the moment, which is just wonderful.

About as wonderful as Ben Affleck’s new Bieber-meets-Billy-Ray-Cyrus hairstyle. Why Ben, why?

Last night started with a round of HIIT at the gym and then from the second I got home until we went to bed, it was relaxation nation. Having a busy, busy weekend just takes it out of you!

I’m not going to lie and tell you the run was rosy, and beautiful and enjoyable – because it wasn’t. I couldn’t wait to be done.

Mainly because for my cool-down I had my Kindle (it will never get old) and my Rob Lowe book ready to go. The 5 minute cool-down turned into about a 20 minute cool-down (which could have gone on a lot longer)… the book is that good.

At the end of my intervals, I completed just over 2.5 miles in 22 minutes.

Thank goodness that's over

Overall my workout looked like this:

Then, this morning I woke up to an article in my inbox about HIIT Training!  (and realized I’ve probably been doing it wrong this entire time by not going slow enough to fully recover… wooops.)

THIS is my cool-down. A-Rod honey, pull a little harder, this is too easy.

The benefits of interval training have been studied in labs, made national headlines and continue to be evangelized by every hard-body glossy on the shelves. And for good reason: It works.

“The two most common mistakes I see people making with intervals are not going hard enough on the effort and not going easy enough during recovery, which is really the crux of the whole thing,” Pagano says, “It’s the juxtaposition of near maximum and minimal effort that produces the desired physiological response.”

After a perfectly executed interval routine, your body experiences EPOC, or excess post-exercise oxygen consumption. “EPOC is essentially your body trying to catch up with the oxygen demand put on it during the session,” says Pagano. “It’s trying to return to homeostasis and the harder it has to work to return, the more calories your body burns to get you there.”

As a general rule, you should aim to work between 85 and 90 percent of your maximum heart rate on intense bursts—and you’ll need a heart rate monitor to eliminate the guesswork. Then recover for as long as it takes you to get back down to 60-70 percent of your max. “The recovery is just as important as the effort because that’s where the cardiovascular adaptations take place,” Pagano says, “And you need to fully recover in order to allow your body to expend a close to maximal effort on the next burst.”

Source

For those of you that do interval training or are just interested in it, this article has a lot of good information… including that (as I suspected) I know nothing about intervals and have been pushing way too hard during my recovery! Definitely try it out if you’re working on your speed.

Slowpoke over here has seen a big difference! 😉

Off to get some work done, see you this afternoon with your weekly dose of: celebrities! working! out!

Do you interval train? How do you work on your speedwork when you run?


6 thoughts on “Been Doing It Wrong The Entire Time

  1. It really was like January this morning! I walked outside and it was sprinkling… not cool. Omg I hadn’t seen Ben’s new haircut… I don’t care if it is for a movie role, that is bad! And what an interesting post on interval training! I think I have the opposite problem- I don’t push myself hard enough during the spurts, but I’m going to work on that!

  2. i was always really bad at speed work when training for a race. i basically never did it haha..i also never really did hill work..or anything else. so i pretty much always did it wrong because im lazy.

Leave a Reply

