Take Me Out To The Ballgame

Sadly, the end of the weekend is upon us.

And what a weekend it was!

After 2 birthday celebrations and a bridal shower, we ended our weekend with one of my favorite things to do in SF –

Giants Game!

My dad had generously given us tickets (thanks Dad!) to today’s game so we took full advantage and got there a full 2 hours early for batting practice.

(Sidebar: it was also Giants fedora day and I was on a mission to secure my fedora before they ran out. I’ve been long convinced that I can totally rock the hipster look and you can bet I was going to try to do so for free. Only the first 20,000 fans got ’em.)

It was a beautiful day for baseball!

 

 

Excuse the award-winning quality of the iPhone pictures. I’m working on figuring out how to use turn on the DSLR. 

We SF-ers don’t mess around when it comes to the Giants – this was the 50th consecutive sell-out at the park!

There’s just something about this team – winning the World Series last year brought together the entire city and we all had the time of our lives watching the games and celebrating. I definitely became a bigger (some may call it bandwagon!) fan because of the post-season.

 

SF the night the Giants won the World Series in 2010

 

I grew up going to baseball games with my dad and absolutely love the game so the more games we get to go to, the better!

 

Lou Seal even got a fedora

Fear the Beard

 

I had my “celebrity encounter” when I was walking to our seats and saw a guy on crutches coming towards me. Being polite, I smiled and he said “Hi, enjoy the game” and it dawned on me it was our injured star catcher, Buster Posey.

I was obviously more than ready to let Perez Hilton know about it. And People magazine. 

For lunch, boyfriend and I got delicious flank steak, brown rice, caramalized onions and scallion bowls.

 

For ballpark food? A+

 

They were light but filling, not greasy (for ballpark food that’s hard to come by) and I loved that they gave you the option of brown rice. The veggies were fresh and overall it was a delicious lunch!

Even better, the Giants ended up beating the Brewers 2-1 to win the series!

Let's go MadBum

And you know I got my hat!

In all my hipster glory

 

Once we got back from the game, I was itching to get a quick workout in since we’d beed sitting all day, so I headed to the gym (obviously with my new toy, the Kindle, which will never again leave my side) and completed an Elliptical workout:

35 minutes @ Resistance 9, Incline 20

When I got home we decided to keep the Giants theme of the day going so we watched the first 2 episodes of the new Showtime show, “The Franchise: A Season with the San Francisco Giants”. 

 

 

It’s fantastic.

Even if you’re not into baseball what-so-ever it’s an addicting reality show that goes as much into their personal lives (wives, babies etc –  basically a baseball version of our favorite E! shows) as it does their professional lives.

And if you don’t want to pay for Showtime (like us!) you can check out the first episode on their website – and if you’re really feeling ambitious you can stream it to your TV. (Thank you boyfriend 🙂 )

With that we’re off to relax for the rest of the evening!

Hope your weekend was great!

What did you do this weekend? 

6 thoughts on “Take Me Out To The Ballgame

  1. That sounds like fun!! I escaped for the weekend. Went to Sarasota, FL & went to the Ca’ d’Zan Mansion & Ringling Museum of Art and of course the beach 🙂 Very relaxing!

  2. I’m so jealous of the fedora! My husband and I were there for the Saturday game so got the belt buckle instead. I think I can rock a fedora better than the buckle. Lucky!
    Have you tried the Cha Cha bowl? It’s okay, not worth the hype. I should have had what you ate. So yummy looking!

  3. Pingback: Monday Monday « runningonhungrydotcom

Leave a Reply

