Why So Crabby?

TGIF! YES!

For some reason this week has felt more like a month and I am more than ready for the weekend to be here!

Last night I hit the gym for a 6-mile dreadmill run. I’d been itching to run all day, so I marched to the gym like I was on a mission, found the latest issue of Health Magazine conveniently placed on my treadmill, and went to town.

Overall, the run felt amazing. Even with the magazine and my headphones however, I was beyond bored. Something about the exact same scenery for almost an hour… it’s brutal. (However the hurricane force winds that have been hitting my neighborhood were enough to make me think that boredom > insane resistance!)

The run looked like this:

6 miles in just over 54 minutes… I’ll take it!

I cooled down about 8 minutes or so and then the thoughts of food couldn’t be suppressed any longer. It was time to go.

**********

Dinner

I’ve been wanting to make healthified Crab Cakes ever since, well ever. They’re my most favorite food to order for an appetizer but I know how not-good (okay, terrible) they are for you.

So I got to work in the kitchen.

Ingredients:

  • 2 Cans Lump Crab Meat (fresh works too, but the canned tasted so fresh, and saved about $25!)
  • 2 T chopped red onion
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 3 tablespoons 0% Greek Yogurt
  • 1 C Soft Bread Crumbs (I used 100% Whole Wheat)
  • 1 T Fresh Thyme
  • 1 t Seafood Seasoning (I used “Herbs For Fish” from Dean and Deluca)
  • 1/2 t Lemon Pepper
  • 1/2 cup dry bread crumbs
  • Olive Oil

(The Sun Dried Tomatoes didn’t make the cut – I figured they’re be too chewy with the crab consistency)

I mixed together all of the ingredients (except the Olive Oil and Dry Bread Crumbs) and then stirred in the crab meat (which I was seriously impressed with for being from a can!)

I then formed 8 small crab cakes, put them on a plate and into the fridge they went to “set” for about an hour. I had time to spare before boyfriend got home from the gym, and my mom had told me it helps them keep their “cake” shape.

(Sidebar: Mom really does know best – it does!)

Once boyfriend got home, I poured a bit (1-2 T) of Olive Oil in a bowl and mixed it with the dry bread crumbs andΒ  sprinkled the mixture onto each crab cake.

Into the skillet they went.

I put an additional 1-2 T Olive Oil in the pan, and cooked each crab cake for a few minutes on each side (once they were a golden brown, I flipped – with boyfriend’s help because they got a bit crumbly!)

Looking tasty!

As a side, we made a Brown Rice “Salad” consisting of:

  • TJ’s Instant Brown Rice
  • Balsamic Vinegar
  • Organic Baby Arugula
  • Pomegranate Seeds
  • Lemon Pepper

We were a little skeptical of the flavor combination but ohmygod. It was GOOD.

Crunchy, soft, light

I'll take 3 more please

The Verdict?

The Crab Cakes were SO delicious – still had that same crunchy exterior, soft interior with LOTS of flavor, and were SO light (& healthy!) with the Greek Yogurt rather than mayo. I didn’t feel weighed down afterward (and I ate 3) but completely satisfied.

These are definitely being made again. Like tonight.

The Brown Rice “Salad” was ridiculously good. The Pomegranate seeds gave it a much needed crunch and sweetness and the baby arugula spiced it up a bit. As we all know, I’m a huge fan of anything Balsamic and it gave it a nice little kick.

Overall the crab cakes took about 15 minutes of prep time and 15 minutes cook time start to finish – highly recommended!

Time to get some work done, have a great Friday! πŸ™‚

What did you have for dinner last night?

What’s your go-to appetizer to order at a restaurant?

6 thoughts on “Why So Crabby?

Leave a Reply

