What’s For Lunch?

I did it.

There's no turning back now!

 

For approximately the cost of a pair of Lululemon Yoga Pants, I just paid to run 13.1 miles.

And signed up to be a St. Jude’s Hero while I’m at it.

 

 

Some of the (many, many) reasons St Jude’s is a cause close to my heart:

  • St. Jude pioneered a combination of chemotherapy, radiation and surgery to treat childhood cancers.
  • St. Jude is the only pediatric cancer research center where families never pay for treatment not covered by insurance. No child is ever denied treatment because of the family’s inability to pay.
  • St. Jude has developed protocols that have helped push overall survival rates for childhood cancers from less than 20 percent when the hospital opened in 1962 to 80 percent today.

I, (like most of us) was lucky enough to grow up healthy, happy and enjoy my childhood without a care in the world. I know many kids aren’t as lucky, and a place like St Jude’s provides wonderful care and state-of-the-art research and treatment… so I want to do all that I can to give help where help is needed.

**********

My lunch today was a hodge-podge of pretty much whatever I could grab this morning on my sprint out the door to catch the bus (and because I really didn’t feel like dropping any moola on lunch today!)

In the mix?

Using full-arm strength to get every last bit out

Plain saves you about 15g of Sugar!

Speaking of lunchtime, I know I mention my lunch workouts pretty frequently, and for those of us who can’t wake up at 5am (I’ve tried and failed more times than I care to admit!) the lunch workout is a great time to get it out of the way and still have the evening to yourself!

Workouts you can complete on your lunch hour?

  • Yoga class or really any class – pilates, spin, TRX, etc if your gym is nearby your office (just prepared for the dreaded gym shower afterward – and bring flip-flops!)
  • Hit the gym as your normally would – do a HIIT run rather than a long one to get similar benefits
  • Grab a co-worker or friend and go for a power walk (strolling up and down the Embarcadero is a favorite of mine)
  • Do the same and go for a run (if you have access to a shower, or very understanding co-workers!)
  • If you’re like Emily, and have access to a workout space at your office, download a yoga podcastStephanie Snyder’s comes very, very highly recommended

I know it’s not feasible for everyone to do, but if you have your gym in close proximity and the time to do it – I’m a big fan of the lunch-hour workout.

It also seriously wakes you up for the rest of your afternoon at work. As in no food coma!

 

 

Otherwise, there’s always the mornings, or after work (which I also do, 50% of the time). Mainly I think it’s finding the time of day that works for you. Working out in the afternoons gives me energy to complete the rest of my day and in the evenings I get to wipe away all the stresses from the day and then get home to enjoy my night.

If you can’t get out of bed at 5am, or if the thought of running at 6pm is a nightmare, find what works  for you and get into a routine that you know you’ll be able to keep up- that’s really all that matters!

Off to finish the workday – see you tonight! 🙂

 

What’s your ideal workout time?

4 thoughts on “What’s For Lunch?

  1. I would SO L-O-V-E to be able to work out during my lunch hour. I go for a walk during the Spring/Fall but the Summer leaves me covered in sweat with no access to a shower (and not understanding co-workers 🙂 ). I know some people use those wipe thingies, but I just can’t continue to work with greasy/sweaty hair :(. I’ll have to check and see if there’s any gyms close by. I work out at the crack of dawn during the Summer (because of the humidity) and usually after work in the Fall/Winter as I don’t have the daylight in the morning.

  2. I just registered for the US Half marathon too! My first Half! Hope it doesn’t rain! Definitely feel more excited about that than the equal cost for a pair of lululemon pants! (though i also bought a new pair of running pants last week :P)

    @ohmissval

Leave a Reply

