Give It a Rest

Happy Thursday!

I love Thursdays for 2 reasons:

  • it’s the day before FRIDAY
  • it’s 2 days before SATURDAY

Clearly, my priorities are in check. 😉

I LOVED reading all of your responses to Get (Mentally!) Tough yesterday… it seems we all have those days and it was awesome to read all of the ways you keep yourselves motivated… I’ll definitely be putting those into use very, very soon!

I awoke this morning feeling tired (I just don’t think I’m cut out for the pre-7am life-style) but not nearly as exhausted as I have been the past few days. I think giving my body time to rest was just what I needed.

 

Even the Hiltons take active rest days. The photographer totally cropped me out.

 

I think as much as I’m addicted to the endorphin rush, runner’s high and feeling I get when I finish a workout, I need to actively take my rest days as they come (planned or unplanned) because it’s only going to benefit me later on and prepare my body for all the workouts I have planned for it!

Little detraining—the loss of fitness and performance that occurs when you stop working out—happens until you take off more than two weeks. When it follows difficult bouts of work, rest lets your body adapt to the work and improve. A day off every seven to 14 days restocks glycogen stores, builds strength, and reduces fatigue Source

Most of the time when we hurt or injure ourselves it comes from overuse, ignoring a dull nagging pain, or pushing through it. I’m certainly guilty of it (SHINS!) and by taking a day off every week we allow our bodies time to heal, build up strength and prevent more serious issues that could sideline us for weeks.

REST DAY
How It Helps:
Prevents overuse injuries
Restores glycogen stores
Prevents mental burnout

How Often: Once a week

How Easy: Off completely or 20 to 30 minutes (or 2 to 4 easy miles) below 60% of max heart rate

Source

You know your body better than anyone else and maybe it’s tough for you to take a rest day.  Sometimes it’s hard for me too. Sometimes I take “active” rest days and do something light like go for a long walk or take an easy yoga class because I’m someone that loves to keep moving and really enjoys the mental benefits I get from even non-strenuous activity.

Even Heidi Klum takes rest days. Only she takes hers with Russell Simmons. What, you don't?

 

After all – if you don’t give your body a rest, how will you be able to Keep Up With (Kim) Kardashian?

Pick it up Klum, I have a wedding dress to fit into

All photos source

Can’t wait for my run after work today! Until then… I’ll just be here… in an office building… for the next 8 hours.

 

What do you rest days look like? “Active” or completely off?

Do you foam-roll or do yoga to stretch?

What’s your favorite thing to do on a rest day that maybe you wouldn’t have had time for otherwise?

7 thoughts on “Give It a Rest

  1. My rest days are all over the place. somedays I barely move from the couch to go to the fridge for food, other days I wander the city, run errands, snowboard, hit the beach, whatever. as long as it’s a mental/physical break I”m good!

  2. Rest days are really important! I have XT/Rest days in my calendar. I plan to take one of those days each week (not usually the same day each week, I go by feel) as a full rest, with just some simple static stretching and maybe foam rolling if necessary.

Leave a Reply

