Winter in July

Happy Tuesday!

Hope you all had a lovely evening!

I spent mine relaxing and  watching an episode of my new obsession Rizzoli and Isles (Mariska you have serious competition on the crime show front) and then watched my beloved Giants demolish the Dodgers.

Boyfriend had to work late last night and by the time I picked him up from the gym (buses in SF get even worse and dirtier than they already are once nightfall hits and the crazies come out) and got home it was well after 9:30pm.

Luckily our Beer-Butt Chicken (why do I giggle every time I type that? Oh right, because I have the maturity of an 11-year old) ensured we had plenty of leftovers!

Last Night’s 2-minute Meal? (What’s up now Rachel Ray?)

Chicken Quesadillas!

Obviously served with 1/2 a bottle of Papalote Salsa

Yes, I’m fully aware a food photography award is in my future. 😉

I chopped up some of the leftover chicken, tossed it on a Whole Wheat tortilla (TJ’s brand is my preference), topped it with Shredded Mozzarella and microwaved for 1:10.

On boyfriend’s I added a dollup of 0% Greek Yogurt to act as a Sour Cream Substitute (Greek Yogurt can be subbed in for virtually anything (taste buds permitting) requiring Sour Cream or Mayo – adds a ton of protein and is a much healthier option!)

Papalote was also a must. The salsa that beat Bobby Flay in a throwdown really, can’t be beat. (Warning – it’s spicy!)

**********

This morning, something crazy happened.

Yes, crazier than Gaga’s latest “ensemble”. Really Gaga? We get it.

I didn’t feel like a smoothie.

Maybe it’s the fact that it’s sub-60 degrees outside in July.

Maybe it’s because I didn’t get my usual 11 servings of Nut Butter yesterday.

I wanted something filling, that I could actually chew, and that was full of PB goodness.

Enter the return of the PB Bagel Thin!

Typically a winter staple  (read: breakfast every day from December-February), it only seemed right to bring it back today.

Reunited, and it feels so good

  • Toasted Whole Wheat Bagel Thin
  • More PB than I’m prepared to admit
  • Sprinkle of Cinnamon
  • Sprinkle of Pumpkin Pie Spice (it will change your life)
  • Sliced Banana
  • Drizzle of honey

Savory, sweet, filling and SO satisfying! (And perfect for a winter summer day in SF)

Off to get some work done before a lunch workout – hope you have a great day!

What’s your workout looking like today? Are you a savory or sweet breakfast person? Totally off-topic but are you a RueLaLa or Gilt Groupe fan? (I ask because I always want to buy things but I’m so conflicted over online shopping… and I hate not knowing if it’s going to fit or not! I’d rather just go in store. Unless of course it’s kitchen supplies like my brand new griddle/grill pan!)

11 thoughts on “Winter in July

  1. I am so jealous of the weather too… you understand I’m sure!

    I was a savory breakfast person, but savory usually ends up taking longer 😉 most days I’m an oatmeal with pb person. And I got 2.5 miles in this morning and hoping to do yoga at some point today…

  2. You didn’t crave a smoothie?!?! WOW, that’s like me not craving a smoothie! Crazy!
    The workout has been knocked out of the park already. I ran outside and had to get it done before 8:00, we’re talking 85’ish degrees at 8:30. HOT stuff today, 107 right now…. Yikes!

Leave a Reply

