HIIT Me With Your Best Shot

I’m so happy to hear I’m not the only one absolutely appalled by the fact that a gym has SIGN-UP SHEETS for Cardio machines! I’m sorry but maxing out at 30 minutes is usually just not enough for me.

My body craves those endorphins after a long day of work!

(And do you really expect me to get through a single Vanity Fair article in 30 minutes?)

At minimum - a 10 page article

Luckily, the gym I (reluctantly) went to last night is not the gym I typically go to – and made me appreciate today’s workout even more!

(Sadly, no I’m not rolling in the dough like The Situation is… my work gives us a very lovely “fitness allocation” each month in which to pay for a gym membership, etc so I’m able to have the gym I go to regularly and a back-up close to home. It’s quite a luxury and I’m extremely thankful for it! I love that they value physical and mental health.)

My favorite spot to do cardio

**********

Today’s workout came in the form of 20 minutes of HIIT followed by a TRX class. Even though I’m not training for the 1/2 Marathon just yet, I’ve noticed that doing an interval run once a week really helps with my speed and strangely with my endurance to keep up faster speeds on longer (yes, 6 miles is long for short legs magee over here) runs.

I'll never leave you for another gym again

The run was hard – not physically but mentally. Okay it was hard physically too! πŸ˜‰

You know when there are just things nagging at you?

  • With each sprint, my crops would fall down a bit and I’d be focused on yanking them back up (which was my own fault for grabbing LuLu Wunder Unders that are a size too big this morning rather than running crops)
  • I forgot a hairband so my hair kept falling in my face and needed to be swatted away constantly
  • I was in a rush to complete the run before TRX started so I neglected to grab a towel (you can all imagine how that ended with Niagra Falls over here)

Completely my own fault, but for 21 out of 21:27 minutes I was just concentrating on being done!

The other 27 seconds I was contemplating what to eat for lunch. Guess who fell off the bring-your-own-food bandwagon after just 1 day?Β  πŸ˜‰

I covered just over 2.5 miles and could not get off the treadmill fast enough.

Are we done here? Good.

Next up was 30 minutes of TRX!

TRX is one of my favorite classes – I love that each move is done for only 45 seconds and that the class is only 30 minutes long. Just enough time to kick my booty up and down the street without getting bored and staring at the clock.

Jello muscles feeling aside, it was a great workout- although I’m sure I’ll be feeling it tomorrow!

I’m now sore in places I didn’t even know I had muscle. Which probably means I don’t have muscle. πŸ™‚

With that, I’m off to finish the day at work… I have big plans in the kitchen tonight! (Don’t worry, the smoke alarm’s been re-connected after Sunday night but someone should really have the fire department on high alert.)

Enjoy your afternoon!

What’s your favorite part about Tuesdays?

Do you ever have mentally difficult workouts?

Favorite Post-Workout Snack? (Clearly, I’m hungry!)

10 thoughts on “HIIT Me With Your Best Shot

  1. Ahh I totally have those types of runs…they make the enjoyable runs so much better though!

    I like Tuesdays because I watch the Bachelorette (we don’t do cable so I watch it on hulu the day after it airs!)

  2. i may be outing myself for having too much ‘self-entitlement’ but a 30 min max on cardio equipment is redic in my mind and will be filed under the ‘i never saw this sign.’ PS-i actually did a little cartoon on this.

    and now sign-up sheets? where in the heck is ur gym, they are really running a tight ship…why not worry more about the creepers with leery eyes or the ones who pee in the showers? πŸ˜‰

    i totally feel u on the ‘little’ things that bug u during a run…flyaway hairs make me want to shave my head sometimes!! great job getting the run in regardless and kickin ur own tush with the TRX! πŸ™‚

  3. Heres my “Caroline Jordan Fitness” secret to toughing it through a mentally challenging workout (we all have em! I call them “survival days” πŸ™‚

    When you cant think anything positive say this mantra over and over till all the negative thoughts stop: “I am so proud of myself right now”. It WORKS! Focusing on doing SOMETHING positive for yourself and being grateful for your ability to do it in the first place shifts the negative mindset to a positive one. You’ve said it before – any workout is better than none. Just be proud of yourself for getting out there despite having a tough training day! You’ll walk away with a smile even if the workout was rough to get through πŸ™‚

    And remember… you gotta have bad training days to REALLY appreciate the GOOD ones! Something to look forward to πŸ™‚ Proud of YOU kristine!

  4. That’s awesome that your company does a fitness alocation! My company used to but not anymore 😦 And I’m very intrigued by TRX but it sounds super hard. But I like the idea of it moving really quickly! And I like Tuesdays because my favorite class- Dance works are on Tuesday!!

Leave a Reply

