Gym Karma

Apparently, you either have it or you don’t.

I like to think I’m a pretty good gym go-er.

I always offer my magazines (esp when they’re the newest Us Weekly or People!) to the person next to me on the treadmill (you can imagine how awkward it gets when it’s a middle-aged man).

I always wipe down the machines when I’m done.

I offer up my big locker (think the ones that can actually hold all of your stuff rather than the 4×4 cube) to someone struggling to fit their stuff in a smaller locker.

And today… it finally came back around.

Allow me to explain…

Since my lovely griddle was delivered to me at work today I wanted to get it home when the bus wasn’t 100 people over capacity – and that meant taking an earlier bus (the joys of city living!) and going to the gym closer to home rather than downtown.

Women’s Health and Vanity Fair (hellooo Kate and Wills!) in hand, I trekked over with high hopes of a cardio workout.

 

Yes, we are genetically perfect and it's just so hard

 

Of course the treadmills and ellipticals were taken and the “sign up sheet” was completely full.

This is why I only go to this gym in the event of an emergency. It’s infuriating.

Right around 5:20 a girl hopped off one of the ellipticals – the one with the arms (I’m hoping you can visualize this – if not, allow me to illustrate). The ones with the arms are just so far superior.

 

I like to think this constitutes an "upper body" workout as well

 

I figured if nothing else I’d get 10 minutes in and then I could sulk on the bike and read for the rest of my planned cardio.

10 minutes came…. and went. And no one kicked me off – which if anyone else has ever been in this position is a big deal. People get as nuts as the people at this wedding did when the Biebs showed up as they do about those darn sign-in sheets.

 

Like Babs, I too thought - gym or yacht? Today, the gym just seemed a better choice

 

Then 20… then 30… then I figured I was in the clear (and obviously engrossed in the 17-page long articles in Vanity Fair) and before I knew it, I had been on there for an hour. It was glorious.

Hello Gym Karma.

 

And you can bet that at the end of my workout, I offered up my Women’s Health (address bar ripped out of course!) and wiped down the machine for the girl coming in next.

Because why mess with a good thing? 🙂

Hope you had a great Monday!

 

Gym Karma? Your thoughts?

13 thoughts on “Gym Karma

  1. Love the gym karma!!! Glad you got your workout time without the hassle you expected. Can’t believe how BUSY that gym sounds!

    And I always do the same by offering others my magazines after I’ve read them or helping someone any way I can. Hopefully I will see an awesome gym karma moment one day!

  2. Haha I love it! I ellipticalled last night and the gym gods were also with me. I was watching a very important show (The Bachelorette!) and was worried someone would kick me off after 30 minutes…but no! I got a full hour in before I decided to go home and watch Ashley whine from my couch.

    I’m also SO happy that my gym doesn’t have sign-up sheets! That would make me insane!

  3. I’m so glad that you had good gym karma last night!! And totally understand about not wanting to be on the crowded bus with the griddle! Yay for the Will & Kate issue of VF.. it’s one of my favorite issues to date, all the articles are so interesting! I currently have the August one at home just waiting to be read 🙂

Leave a Reply

