Beer Butt Chicken!

Gooood Morning and Happy Monday!

I hit snooze no less than 7 times and definitely could have used a bit more sleep… but c’est la vie right?

I started this morning off with a much-needed jolt of fruits and veggies. I haven’t been posting about it since I’m pretty sure no one cares that I have the exact same thing for breakfast every morning. Safe to say if breakfast isn’t blogged about, it was a smoothie.

I have so much depth.

  • 1.5 C 1% milk
  • Frozen strawberries
  • Frozen blueberries
  • Handful Spinach
  • Heaping scoop vanilla protein powder
  • Agave
  • Cinnamon

**********

Last night for dinner, boyfriend and I decided a Sunday Roast was in order.

We bought the lovely “Beeroaster Deluxe” last week and have been dying to use it.

For what?

Beerbutt Chicken!

That convenient little metal tube holds le brewski and helps to cooks the chicken from the inside out

Yes, the beer is poured in the tube that you place the chicken on to… hence creating the oh-so-eloquent name. ๐Ÿ˜‰

During our TJ’s shopping spree yesterday (we should be able to eat for a month with the amount of food we now have, and I’d be shocked if it lasted us more than 6 days) we picked up a whole chicken to roast for dinner.

Since I have strong, strong aversions to touching raw chicken to the extent an entire raw chicken needs to be handled (I actually screamed when boyfriend came at me with it), I got to work putting together a dry rub of fresh herbs and spices.

Dry Rub/Fresh Herb deliciousness

  • Fresh rosemary
  • Fresh Thyme
  • Lemon Pepper
  • Himalayan Sea Salt
  • Garlic Powder

Boyfriend cleaned out the chicken (while I gagged) and rubbed it down with olive oil before dusting it with the dry rub inside and out (all the while more gagging ensued on my end).

We poured about 1/2 a bottle of Red Stripe into the beer portion and sliced a few garlic cloves and put them in as well.

I present to you... Beer Butt Chicken!

The roasting pan has skewers for both corn on the cob and potatoes so we were excited to try that out as well.

Since we got a late start, we cooked the chicken at 450* for an hour, and added the corn about 35 minutes in.

Aside from almost getting smoked out of the apartment and having to disconnect the smoke alarm, the dinner was a HUGE success!

The corn and potatoes were cooked perfectly. The chicken was flavorful, perfectly cooked, and had a delicious crunchy skin.

And the best part:

SO. MUCH. LEFTOVER! ๐Ÿ™‚

I can’t wait for us to get creative with our dinners this week!

Definitely recommend this meal as a quick and easy way to cook a roast chicken with a lot of flavor!

What was the BEST thing you ate this weekend?

We made Lamb Burgers with Goat Cheese and thinly sliced (mandolin) apples on Saturday night, Homemade pizzas on Friday night. steel-cut oats for breakfast yesterday (can’t beat homemade!) and the Chicken last night so I’m going with a 4-way tie! (Pictures to come this afternoon!)

13 thoughts on “Beer Butt Chicken!

  1. Sooo can figure out the smoothie spinach thing, please help! I made smores does that count lol? We had a BBQ I had this amazing grilled salmon on a wooden plank yu,,

    • I looove smoked salmon like that! And s’mores are prob in my top 3 desserts!

      The key to the smoothie is twice as many froz berries (or froz fruit) as spinach! 2:1 ratio. Or PB, protein powder, coca powder, milk and spinach… You can’t even taste the greens!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Oh your smoothie looks delicious! I’ve never added agave to smoothies, but my favorite one from Plant Organic uses it, so I’ll have to try it too! And I am very impressed with the beer butt chicken! (Omg, just read that the smoke alarm went off… oops!) did it taste a lot like beer or was the flavor more subtle?

    And I didn’t really have anything too exciting to eat this weekend! But the pancake was delicious!

  3. Pingback: Winter in July « runningonhungrydotcom

  4. Pingback: HIIT Me With Your Best Shot « runningonhungrydotcom

  5. Pingback: Gonna Make You a Pizza You Can’t Refuse « runningonhungrydotcom

Leave a Reply

