1-Bowl Cookies? Don’t Mind If I Do

I’ve been eating obscene amounts of chocolate lately.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m totally ok with it. More than ok with it.

Dark Chocolate is one of my essential food groups.

This afternoon I was faced with a conundrum.

After plowing through our dark chocolate covered pomegranate seeds and dark chocolate pretzel thins the last couple of weeks, the only chocolate we had left in our house was a bag of chocolate chips.

(Yes, the past couple nights I’ve eaten a few handfuls of just straight semi-sweet chocolate chips. No, it wasn’t the same.)

Today, I had to do something about it.

A week or so (maybe more?) ago, I saw on Tina’s blog (the greatest end-all blog: recipes, workouts, marathon training, life… I highly recommend!) a recipe for

Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

 

Like little fluffy muffin cookies.

 

I made a mental note to make them at some point, because it’s pretty rare I have all the ingredients needed for baked goods.

It’s also pretty rare to find a cookie recipe I have all the ingredients for that requires 1 bowl and simply mixing together all of said ingredients.

I knew this was for me. (That and the Netflix Instant Queue decided to make Dexter not available instantly, so I had some time on my hands).

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour (I used Oat Flour because it’s all we had)
  • 1 cup oats
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp ground flaxseed meal
  • 1/4 cup agave nectar (or honey) (I didn’t have enough agave on hand so I used honey)
  • 1/4 cup soy milk (I used 1% milk since I’m not a soy milk drinker)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp canola oil (I used Olive Oil)
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips (I’ll be honest it was a heaping 1/2 cup!)
  • 1/4 cup walnuts (Tina says optional, I used them and was so happy I did!)
  • Pinch of salt

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350*F.
  • Combine all ingredients in a large bowl. Mix well until batter is blended evenly.
  • Use a tablespoon to portion cookies on a greased baking sheet, approximately 1-2 inches apart.
  • Bake cookies for 10-12 minutes.
  • Remove cookies from baking sheet and allow to cool on wire rack.
  • Eat and enjoy!
Easiest recipe ever.  
I was salivating while they were cooking the kitchen smelled so good!
The verdict?
They tasted even better than they smelled baking. Spongy and light, but SO flavorful. Hints of banana, oats, chocolate chips, cinnamon, vanilla and walnut.
And they’re HEALTHY! (Which makes it totally ok to have 8 in one sitting, right?)
I’ve taken down 2 so far and I’m seeing another pair in my future.
Added bonus? No eggs in the dough so feel free to lick the bowl/spatula clean like I did 🙂
Thanks Tina for the amazing recipe idea!

16 thoughts on “1-Bowl Cookies? Don’t Mind If I Do

  1. Thanks for your comment! My reply feature is being a mess so you won’t get an aumatic email 😦 but i responded!

    hmm i am tempted to try these, i saw them through twitter, i have all these ripe bananas and a bbq tomorrow. are they really that good? crazy!

    • I’ll check it!

      They are so good! And so light! My boyfriend loved them too (and he’s not that big on sweets!)

      I’d double the recipe if it’s for a large group… Mine didn’t make 25… Or I just made them too big!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Netflix is not on my good side right now. Upping their prices has ticked me off a little, booo them!…. Woooo those cookies though! Fluffy and flavorful + easy clean up! What more could a girl ask for!!!
    -Dark chocolate as a food group, I hear ya! I don’t feel bad about it one bit! It makes my world a better place 🙂 Happy Saturday night!

  3. Pingback: Weekend Scramble « runningonhungrydotcom

Leave a Reply

