The Hunger Games – Eat It Up!

Goood Morning! (And Happy Thursday!)

I for one, cannot wait for this weekend. It seems like the sun has finally decided to try peeking out of the clouds in SF, and my fingers are crossed for a hot sunny weekend!

So I’ve decided to definitely sign up for the 1/2 Marathon in November… it gives me plenty of time to devise a training plan that works for me, get new shoes and my feet checked out, and go for a new PR! (I really want to finish in <1:50!)

**********

The Hunger Games

I recently finished (and you’ve all heard me rave about) The Hunger Games book series. A couple of people had asked about the books, the premise, what I thought, etc so I thought I’d do an official review.

The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins consists of 3 books :

  • The Hunger Games
  • Catching Fire
  • Mockingjay

Honestly in my opinion, each book was better than the last, which doesn’t happen often!

Synopsis:

The United States is gone. North America has become Panem, a TV-dominated dictatorship run from a city called the Capitol. The rest of Panem is divided into 12 Districts (the former 13th had the bad judgment to revolt and no longer exists). The yearly highlight in this nightmare world is the Hunger Games, a bloodthirsty reality TV show in which 24 teenagers chosen by lottery — two from each District — fight each other in a desolate environment called the ”arena.” The winner gets a life of ease; the losers get death.

Our heroine is Katniss Everdeen (lame name, cool kid), a resident of District 12, which used to be Appalachia. She lives in a desperately poor mining community called the Seam, and when her little sister’s name is chosen as one of the contestants in the upcoming Hunger Games, Katniss volunteers to take her place. A gutsy decision, given the fact that District 12 hasn’t produced a Hunger Games winner in 30 years or so, making them the Chicago Cubs of the postapocalypse world.

Complicating her already desperate situation is her growing affection for the other District 12 contestant, a clueless baker’s son named Peeta Mellark. Further complicating her situation is her sorta-crush on her 18-year-old hunting partner, Gale. Gale isn’t clueless; Gale is smoldering. Says so right on page 14.

The rest of The Hunger Games, however, is a violent, jarring speed-rap of a novel that generates nearly constant suspense and may also generate a fair amount of controversy. I couldn’t stop reading, and once I got over the main character’s name (Gale calls her Catnip — ugh), I got to like her a lot.

Collins is an efficient no-nonsense prose stylist with a pleasantly dry sense of humor. Reading The Hunger Games is as addictive (and as violently simple) as playing one of those shoot-it-if-it-moves videogames in the lobby of the local eightplex; you know it’s not real, but you keep plugging in quarters anyway.

Source

Honestly – I finished the entire series in about 2 weeks time. They were that good. The addicting, can’t-put-down, have to find out what happens next kind of good. I read on the bus, at home, at the gym, at work, before bed, in the car. You name it, I was reading.

I loved Katniss and her independent spirit and her go-getter attitude, and I was totally torn between Peeta and Gale! (I made my allegiance – We can discuss via the comments section which team you are on!)

Catching Fire picks up where the Hunger Games left off (not going into any detail in order to not spoil the first book for people) and Mockingjay from there.

It’s also being made into movies starring Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss – which I can totally get behind.

The Verdict?

Read these books. Now. The premise sounds like it would be totally unrealistic but I swear once you start reading it… it isn’t. This is coming from a big Harry Potter fan (I hated Twilight, but read them anyway because I felt like I had to keep up with pop culture!) so maybe I’m a bit biased but if you’re looking for a series to get into that is a fast, addictive and easy read… get these books!

Have you read these books? What did you think? What is the last book you read and LOVED?

9 thoughts on “The Hunger Games – Eat It Up!

  1. Its so funny how when I first read about these books I totally judged them. Now of course I know better! I loved them 🙂 I’m excited to see the movies, but I might need to re-read since I read them last year 🙂

    All this stuff about Harry Potter I don’t get, but Hunger Games – I get!

  2. well clearly i have to read these books. people LOVE them..especially you :). im ready ‘under the banner of heaven’ right now. its about fundamentalist mormons (hope i dont offend anyone) its really interesting..i would definitely recommend it!

    • Just spotted this and had to comment- Amy have you heard of the 19th Wife? It’s about polygomist mormons but intertwines the true writings of Brigham Young’s 19th wife with a 20th century story. It is REALLY good! They made a lifetime movie out of it last year which was ok, but the book is great.

  3. just started the first one!! they are just getting to the capitol, good so far, cant wait to keep reading! thanks for dedicating a post to the books!

  4. Ok, you’ve convinced me! I will add these to my Kindle wish list! I had heard people talk about the books before but wasn’t sure they’d be something I was into. But the romance and the suspense? Sign me up! Can’t wait to discuss them once I get reading!

  5. Mobi – CHM is perhaps the only e-reader which supports the CHM file format.
    The intent was for PDF files to provide a way to distribute documents electronically and have them display or
    print consistently regardless of the type of computer system.
    Its easy-to-use format allows anybody to search for their favorite books online.

Leave a Reply

