Listen Up!

Happy Tuesday!

Someone forgot to tell SF it’s actually July… it looks like January outside.

Cloudy, windy, foggy, cold.

Basically the kind of weather you want to curl up under a blanket in and watch movies all day. Not take the bus to work and sit in your cubicle staring outside at grey, dark weather all day.

To combat this weather, and the fact that I was on the bus at 6:58 am this morning, I deemed it a Skinny Vanilla Latte (1 pump!) kind of morning.

If you aren't familiar with the "Splash Stick" - it is highly recommended to avoid spilling all over yourself pre-7am.

 

Once the caffeine was sufficiently flowing through my veins, the beloved Greek Yogurt Bowl made it’s weekly appearance.

As much as I love my morning smoothies, there’s something about actually “eating” your breakfast that’s totally satisfying.

**********

Now on to the cardio portion of the evening…

I went to the gym after work (after my horrific pilates class yesterday afternoon) fully intending to complete 25 minutes of HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training – 20 seconds at 9.0-9.5, 40 seconds at 5.5) on the treadmill.

Wrong again.

Within seconds of starting my first sprint my shins were not having it.

Like La Loca Lohan, my shins said "hell to the no"

Source

I ended up completing 35 minutes on the Elliptical (10 Resistance, 20 incline) reading the latest issue of Vogue with Emma Watson on the cover.

Which made me think about the beginning of the end of this:

Guess what movie I will be seeing this weekend?

Depressed doesn’t even begin to cover it.

I am a big fan of listening to my body when it comes to workouts. Yes I wanted nothing more than to sprint to my little heart’s desire on that dreadmill, but not only would it seriously aggravate my knees/shins, I knew it wouldn’t be a good run if I was constantly thinking about the dull pain and not able to get everything I wanted out of the run.

If I had pushed through it, my knees/shins would probably be completely out of commission today and possibly even the next few days… ruining the workouts and classes I have planned and maybe even turning into something serious.

Listening to the signals your body gives you – whether it’s going an extra mile or turning up the intensity when you’re feeling really good, or knowing when to call it quits when you start to feel any pain is seriously important.

Maybe you do swap a running day for a yoga class, but your body will thank you and in turn, your next workout will be along the lines of this!

As much as it paints me to do it, I’m giving my legs a break from running for the next few days so I can go for a nice long outdoor run  this weekend and enjoy it .

Enjoy your Tuesday! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Listen Up!

  1. Ugh, I know this weather is ridiculous! I was listening to music on my commute this morning and a Christmas song came on and all of the sudden I was so confused, it took me a few seconds to remember that it was July!! And I’m sorry your work out yesterday didn’t go like you planned, but you made the right decision listening to your body! We’ve both succeeded with that this week!

    • Haha that is SO fitting! WTF it was so foggy when I walked out of my apartment this morning I swear it was raining!

      So glad we listened to ourselves this week… I feel like if we hadn’t we wouldn’t be very happy campers right now!

      PS – Do you run? Seriously debating doing a half in SF in the next few mos!

Leave a Reply

