Terrible Horrible No Good Very Bad Workout

I mayyyy be exaggerating.

We’ve all had ’em.

Your legs are tight on a run.

You ate a big meal before hitting the gym.

You’re tired.

You’re hungover.

Your mind is elsewhere.

Or what happened to me today…

Substitute Teacher.

I was looking forward to Pilates allΒ  morning – some toning, some stretching, and lots of core work.

I knew the usual instructor would be out-of-town today, and she had mentioned the usual sub – who is a close 2nd to her in terms of teaching, class style, and energy.

Then it happened.

Like Kimmy K, I was NOT impressed

In walked the very Pilates instructor who’s classes I avoid like the plague. I took a class from her once and honestly disliked just about everything about it. I’m not usually a fan of group exercise classes, mainly because I can self-motivate and push myself harder than an instructor can push me.

But in some cases (Caroline – the best spin instructor on the planet, my normal pilates instructor, and my TRX instructor) I find an instructor whose personality and teaching style work with mine and it can only be likened to that of the most perfect workout marriage.

This was not the case.

Rather than rant and rave, I’ll break it down for you in a Pro/Con series.

Pro

  • Got a killer leg/core/booty workout because I was so annoyed with her that I made myself do all the modifications

Cons

  • She talked to us like we were 5
  • She didn’t do any of the moves/positions/what have you with us
  • She would say “Now do this at your own pace for a little bit then stop when you feel like you’ve had enough” with no direction, no countdown, nothing – I take these classes so you will push me to do more sit-ups lady!
  • Since she didn’t do any of the actual class with us, her descriptions of the moves were “now rotate your legs externally and lower your ribs while keeping your hip flexors idle”. What does that even mean?
  • The class was not pilates, but rather “yogilates” as we did no less than 10 yoga poses… and way too much downward facing dog and sun salutations for my liking

Now that I’ve gotten that off my chest, let’s talk about my delicious and so very random lunch!

Reduced-Sodium Soy Sauce Marinated Soba Noodles with Grilled Chicken and Green Onions!

Now say it 10 times fast. πŸ˜‰

Since I have apparently spent the first quarter or so of my life living under a rock, I had no idea what a soba noodle was, but for some reason this bowl looked really delish today.

In case you were wondering…

Soba is a type of thin noodle made from buckwheat flour, and in Japan can refer to any thin noodle (in contrast to thick wheat noodles, known as udon). Soba noodles are served either chilled with a dipping sauce, or in hot broth as a noodle soup. It takes three months for buckwheat to be ready for harvest, so it can be harvested four times a year, mainly in spring, summer, and autumn. In Japan, buckwheat is produced mainly in Hokkaido.[1] Soba that is made with newly-harvested buckwheat is called “shin-soba”. It is sweeter and more flavorful than regular soba. Source

So-so-soba (see what I did there?) delicious! I am a huge fan of this little buckwheat noodle and will definitely be re-creating it at home with some fun mix-in’s!

Off to finish up the work day and get some cardio in… have a great one!

Have you ever had a less-than-stellar substitute workout class instructor? What did you think?

14 thoughts on “Terrible Horrible No Good Very Bad Workout

  1. That sucks so bad. It kind of makes me mad really. You’re geared up for one thing then the total opposite is what you get. And it’s not your fault either. It’s one thing to have a crappy workout b/c you were the primary cause.

  2. I know how annoying that can be! Sorry about the lame experience — but there’s always next time, and you’ll appreciate your regular instructor that much more. πŸ™‚ And it sounds like you already have your favorite place, but just in case you’re interested, I used to go to a place called Mighty Pilates in Presidio Heights, and I LOVED it! If you ever want to try their classes, let me know and I can tell you my fave teachers where you can get a killer workout! I miss Mighty!

    • Ooooh I may need to try that place! (Esp if this sub business continues!) I will definitely ask you for teacher recommendations! I literally can’t wait for my class Wednesday and for the normal teacher to be back. I will hug her. Haha

  3. Hate it when there are subs. But lately… I’ve just been getting NO SHOWS. No regular teacher.. no sub.. nothing. I am glad I always have a back up plan. because most of the people who take the class usually just leave if no teacher shows up.
    seriously. they drag themselves to the gym..and can’t find a single other thing to do if there is no class? I don’t get it!

    • Oh my goodness that is totally worse than a sub! And seriously… you go all the way to the gym, in your gear… and then you just leave? That makes no sense! I would totally be like you with a back-up plan. The way I see it is I’m getting my workout in one way or another!

  4. Gah, major bummer about the sub! I probably would have walked out and released my frustration by sprinting on the treadmill! :-p I guess the silver lining is that you’ll appreciate your regular teacher SO much more come Wednesday!

    Mmm, I love soba noodles. They’re so hearty and delicious!

    • Ha! I totally would have but for some reasons my shins are only handling a couple runs a week lately… Ugh! Instead I just glared at her the entire time… Esp when she took on the “preschool teacher” voice!! πŸ˜‰

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. Oh man, I’m so sorry you had such a bad experience with the sub! I hate that especially after you have been looking forward to it all day! I’m with you on your con- I hate it when fitness instructors don’t do the move with you, at least once! I love this dance class at my gym, but one day there was this sub who normally teaches at another studio. She clearly did not have a dance background and when she after every combination that she taught us, she would forget the steps! I mean I understand that everyone messes up but every single time… seriously? Then she wouldn’t tell us what move was next, but just say left or right. Well that’s slightly helpful but hard when you are trying to teach us a combination! Luckily she never subbed for the class again!

    And oh that looks yummy! I’ve been curious about making soba noodles!

    • Ugh that is the worst! I kind of felt that way about this teacher too… Do you even do pilates lady?? Did not seem like it! Even more excited for tomorrow’s class now! The noodles were the saving grace… So yummy! I’m kind of intimidated to cook with them though! πŸ˜‰

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. First of all – THANK YOU so much for the shout out. It means the WORLD πŸ™‚ you are awesome and I appreciate every kind thing you said πŸ™‚

    And secondly – OMG. I am SO sorry to hear you had such a bad experience in the class. Who on earth was that teacher? Sadness. Well i hope you get in a good workout soon – i hate those workouts. Just means you have a good one to look forward to!!

  7. Pingback: Listen Up! « runningonhungrydotcom

Leave a Reply

