When The Moon Hits Your Eye Like a Big Pizza Pie

Hope you’re enjoying and savoring the last bit of weekend we have left!

After boyfriend and I cleaned the apartment from top to bottom for a good 2 hours (I would eat off the bathroom floors they are so shiny, clean and sparkly right now) we got ready for a special guest coming over for dinner.

Boyfriend’s mom! 🙂

Boyfriend’s mom is so wonderful and I really enjoy spending time with her. We like to get together as often as we can, and always have a great time – tonight was no exception.

Boyfriend and his mom are huge sushi fans. I am… a fan of sushi, but mainly the “beginner” rolls – California, Dragon, Spider, Caterpillar, etc. There is one type of nigiri sushi I will eat and it’s sold at all of 2 restaurants here – Walu or butterfish.

There is an amazing Japanese fish market in Japantown that specializes in sashimi-grade fish that boyfriend goes to about once a week to pick up fresh sushi to slice and dice up.

I usually 100% of the time opt out and make something a little more… cooked.

 

The sophisticated side of the table

...and mine.

 

Tonight I decided on a homemade pizza, while still digging into the steamed edamame with boyfriend and his mom as they devoured their sushi.

I had picked up some ingredients and dough at Whole Foods today for the pizza and  had big plans to make my own pesto, but since we under-estimated cleaning time by a good 2 hours, that’s going to have to wait until tomorrow!

Pizza Pan is Mario Batali Cast Iron from Crate and Barrel - if you frequently make homemade pizzas, mark my words. You need this.

On the pizza went:

  • Mozzarella cheese
  • Pesto
  • Sun Dried Tomatoes
  • 1/2 Chopped Every-Herb-You-Can-Find Chicken leftover from last night
  • Fresh spinach
  • Fresh thyme
Amazing.
We usually get our pizza dough at Trader Joe’s and opt for the whole-wheat but the regular dough from Whole Foods was crispy, flaky and perfect. I devoured almost half the pizza (not embarrassed but rather extremely proud of it) and we have plenty left over for lunch tomorrow! Win-win.
For dessert we had Coconut gelato hand-packed from Ciao Bella (my most favorite dessert on the planet – try it with heated up chocolate syrup – it will change your life) and a Marblehead Mint that boyfriend’s mom had brought over.
Mine was obviously inhaled before the thought even entered my mind to take a picture of it. Luckily we have about 1/3 of the quart left so there is still hope to get a picture of it for tomorrow’s dessert!
We’re off to watch the Discovery Channel special on “Seal Team 6” and hit the hay… goodnight all!
14 thoughts on “When The Moon Hits Your Eye Like a Big Pizza Pie

  1. I said “What the heck?” one day and gave the sushi boat a try with an ex-boyfriend. I found out that my favorite sushis are any tuna or salmon based rolls. I also love avocado rolls but I’ll pretty much eat anything avocado based.

    That pizza looks delish! 🙂

  2. Everything looks so good! I usually use Trader Joe’s pizza dough, but I’ll have to try whole foods sometime! Chocolate and coconut is currently my favorite flavor combo!!

  3. Your pizza looks amazingly delicious. As does the sashimi. I’d like to come over and enjoy BOTH. 🙂

    I tend to go for beginner rolls as well, mainly because simpler = better in my opinion. I LOVE the combination of fresh crab and avocado, so my go-to sushi order is a California roll. However sometimes I mix it up and go for tuna.

    Happy Monday!

  4. Oh that pizza looks delicious! You have everything on there that makes up my ideal pizza 🙂 And I’m with you re: sushi… I will eat it when I’m out with people, but it’s just not something I choose to have on a regular basis. I’m still a work in progress when it comes to liking seafood but I’m trying!! And I’ve never had the coconut ciao bella but I’m going to have to now!

    • It was SO tasty, you have to try it! (Pizza and Ciao Bella- They have one in the Ferry Building!). I love cooked sea food but there’s just something about raw that I really can’t get behind for the most part!

  5. i totally watched that seal team 6 show last night! good stuff! ahh i miss japan town. I always thought that was SO cool that you could go buy salmon and actually eat it as sashimi. I thought about doing that once in tucson but then remembered i was in tucson haha. oh and obviously love pizza…its prob one of the best things on earth.

    • OMG how good was it? I couldn’t tear my eyes away. I love a good roll at Naked Fish or Ace Wasabi but I can’t do the sashimi thing! Hahaha probably a life-saving decision to not buy the sashimi in Tucson. I lately cannot get enough homemade pizza of every possible combination!

Leave a Reply

