Every-Herb-You-Can-Find Chicken

Happy Saturday night! Hope your day is going well!

Our errand running for supplies was more…. conceptual. We didn’t end up getting what we need for said shoe storage, but we did walk away with a very clear idea of what it is we want!

It just so happened we went by a Marshall’s and I finally found what I’d been searching for for about…. 3 days …after the idea came into my head this week that I needed one.

I picked up this little number for $19.99.


Maxi Dress… I’ve finally hopped on board. Please treat me well.

We also got a little interior design happy and this beautiful piece was born. We’ve been eyeing this look for a while and when we happened upon the last set of sticks we had to have them.

Our apartment (not us!) clearly can’t keep an actual plant alive (our previous plant was even bought in the “hard-to-kill” section at Sloat and we the apartment still managed to suck the life out of it.)

**********

We have plans to have some friends over for some drinks in a bit, but since we had a few chicken breasts in the house decided we should make a dinner revolving around that before it went bad.

We just got a slow-cooker (evidently the last people on Earth to do so?) and while I’m excited to use it, it intimidates the crap out of me.

We didn’t have any solid idea of what we wanted to do with the chicken so boyfriend suggested we bake it, and I grabbed every dried and fresh herb we have in the kitchen.

Every-Herb-You-Can-Find Chicken

I lined the bottom of a ceramic baking dish with low-sodium soy sauce (probably 2 T total) and then coated the chicken in it as a base. I then sprinkled on:

  • Dried Thyme
  • Dried Basil
  • Dried Oregano
  • Fresh Rosemary
  • Lemon Pepper
  • Himalayan Sea Salt
On the side we made steamed edamame, whole wheat pasta and topped it with a bit of the leftover Pozzarella sauce, organic spinach and chopped Kumatos.
We cooked the chicken at 450 degrees for 30-40 minutes (depending on your oven and thickness of the chicken… ours were THICK). Ever 10 minutes or so, boyfriend braised the chicken and spooned the soy-sauce and herb “marinade” on to the chicken breasts.
It was SO delicious, and for the record, the fresh herbs kick the dried herbs’ bootay… twice. The Rosemary was so much more pungent and tasty than any of the dried herbs. Fresh it is from now on!
A delicious glass (or 2) of Gnarly Head Cab was also consumed.
We are huge fans of Gnarly Head Old Vine Zin and Merlot and when we saw the Cab at the grocery store today, we immediately wanted to try it. It’s made not far from SF and it’s usually at all of the wine festivals we attend… and it’s really reasonably priced! (About $9.99 a bottle in California).
I’d rank it behind the Zin, but in front of the Merlot. This wine is goooood.
Our friends are just about here so it’s time for some drinks and to watch the Giants hopefully pull off a win against the Mets! Have a lovely night!
6 thoughts on “Every-Herb-You-Can-Find Chicken

  1. Good luck with the maxi dress!! I keep seeing so many people wearing them and always wonder if I could pull it off. I hope it treats you well 🙂

    The chicken sounds fab! I love the idea of braising it with the marinade. I’m usually too busy doing other things in the kitchen to do that while it bakes!

    • I know I’m the same way! This one didn’t make me look like I was wearing a muu-muu (moo-moo?) so I deemed it a success!

      I’ve never actually braised anything but all of a sudden I see my boyfriend in the kitchen braising and I was totally on board. It made it even more delicious!

  2. That maxi dress is cute!…. Unique in a VERY good way! I’m pretty sure it would not treat me well at all but I am so jealous of the ones that can. Oh well, maybe the next trend, right?
    Lovely night you had! And I agree, fresh herbs kick dried herbs’ bootay! 🙂

    • It’s really cute on… almost an ikat-esque print! I finally pulled the trigger on it, and I’m hoping it warms up enough around here sometime soon to get some use! Otherwise it’s coming on vacation with me! A trend I (and my booty) just can’t get on board with? Rompers! I just can’t do it.

      Ohhh my goodness fresh herbs are far and away so much better than dried! How did I not know this?!

  3. I bought these amazing herbs at tjs this week, I think they’re called Dorot, they’re amazing! In the freezer section, you get like 20 tiny little cubes that each equal a tsp. And they don’t go bad! Got the cilantro, definately trying the basil and whatever else they have.

Leave a Reply

