I Believe It’s Yogging. It Might Be a Soft “J”

…and we are officially at the mid-way point of the (work) week! Hallelujah!

I was swamped at work today so my afternoon post is going up at…. 7:44pm PST.

Awesome.

Even though I was a one-woman email and phone machine today, I did manage to sneak out for a lunch-hour workout.

Priorities, right? 🙂

I had been looking forward to TRX all morning, and today’s class did not disappoint. My booty needed to be kicked after indulging all weekend!

It was the same instructor as last week, who is the regular instructor, and once again we did 45 second intervals of each exercise – going as hard as we could for 45 seconds until we heard the buzzer within the song. (I felt like I was in a video game, and I LOVED it).

The moves I really felt? (AKA hated)-

Squats:

Plank/Side Plank (my poor weak arms!):

One-Legged Lunge:

45 seconds seemed like child’s play to me but I definitely found myself counting down the seconds to when these were over! For the lunges your standing leg feels like it’s about to disassociate itself from the rest of your body. The planks seriously work your shoulders, arms and core, and the squats… well I think we all know they speak for themselves.

Amazing workout!

After the class I rounded out the workout (read: moved my legs around so they would work again) with a very easy (10:00 pace) jog on the treadmill for about 2.5 miles.

Speaking of “jog”, whenever I say that word the scene from Anchorman immediately pops into my head:

Brian Fantana: So the team pancake breakfast is tomorrow morning at nine, instead of eight. 
Ron Burgundy: Oop… I almost forgot. I won’t be able to make it fellas. Veronica and I trying this new fad called uh, jogging. I believe it’s jogging or yogging. It might be a soft j. I’m not sure but apparently you just run for an extended period of time. It’s supposed to be wild. 

Anyway.

The last .5 miles my left shin started hurting again so I cut the “yog” short. I thought that by giving my legs a rest yesterday and then being on the treadmill rather than concrete today they’d be better, but I’m taking that as a sign to take it easy on the runs the rest of the week! Pilates, biking and elliptical here I come!

(Then I remembered we walked about 4.5-5 miles in flip-flops yesterday and realized I didn’t actually give my legs a rest. Woops.)

I’m off to do some laundry (spend $45579 in quarters) and start dinner before boyfriend gets home… in honor of the patriotic weekend, we’re having something that screams summer and all-American.

Can you guess what it may be??

Enjoy your evening! 🙂

One thought on “I Believe It’s Yogging. It Might Be a Soft “J”

Leave a Reply

