From Pale to… Tan?

Goood Morning Afternoon everyone! (I’ve been beyond swamped at work so far today!)

Great way to start off the morning after a long weekend, right?

After my 4th of July weekend eating fest, I was in need of some serious nutrients this morning.

Obviously, a smoothie was at the top of my list.

I was such a big fan of adding Agave and Cinnamon to the smoothie on Sunday that I decided to go for it again.

Hit the spot.

In the blender:

  • 1% Milk
  • Vanilla Protein Powder
  • Frozen Banana
  • Organic Frozen Strawberries
  • 2 handfuls Organic Spinach
  • Dash of Agave Nectar
  • Sprinkle of Cinnamon

For some reason as I sat on the bus on the way to work (last seat left… I was way too excited) my stomach started growling and I was STARVING.

As soon as I got into my office I polished this baby off in about 15 minutes – it was that delicious, refreshing and filling.

In other news- the sun is still shining.

Which will make this (short) week even more bearable!

**********

Since my pale, pasty skin transformed into a dark ivory this weekend, and is definitely not used to all of this heat and sun beating down on it, I was interested to read about the new SPF Rules set forth by the FDA.

The rules won’t take effect for another year (or 2 for smaller companies) but here’s the breakdown:

There are two kinds of solar rays: short ones called UVB that cause burning and skin cancer and long ones called UVA that cause skin cancer and wrinkling. SPF ratings — the letters stand for sun protection factor — reflect only the extent of protection against UVB. The higher the rating, the longer one can stay in the sun before burning.You should always use a sunscreen with UVA/UVB Protection.

An adult in a bathing suit should (also) apply about three tablespoons of lotion every two hours, experts say. I, no joke, can go through a bottle of sunscreen in a weekend. Paranoid? Oh you betcha.

I had (successfully) convinced myself that by using SPF 900 75 I am adding several extra layers of protection to my Casper the Friendly Ghost skin. . . however that’s not the case.

Above an SPF of 30, which can block 97 percent of UVB (if used in testing amounts), effectiveness increases by only 1 or 2 percent.

UVA, which represents more than 95 percent of solar radiation reaching the earth, does not figure in SPF ratings. The phrase “broad spectrum” is meant to indicate protection against UVA, but there is no numerical rating for product effectiveness. Under the new rules, products labeled “broad spectrum” will have to provide equal protection against UVB and UVA, and only products with an SPF of 15 or higher will be allowed to claim protection against skin cancer and premature skin aging. So for everyone out there using SPF 4 tanning lotion.. the protection is extremely minimal.

I use Aveeno SPF 30 for Faces every dayit’s really light, doesn’t have that oily feeling, and doesn’t smell like you’re about to hit the beach in the tropics. But I won’t lie- that scent is my favorite part of sunblock!

Dermatologists suggest choosing only products that are labeled “broad spectrum” and have an SPF rating of 30 to 50. There is no evidence that anything higher than 50 is any better. 

With regard to ingredients, many dermatologists recommend products with micronized titanium or zinc oxide as the most effective sun blockers that leave no white residue on the skin.

Want to read more?

Hopefully you’re lathering up everyday and especially when you’re out in the sun for prolonged periods of time. I mean who wants to have skin like Magda in 25 years? 😉

Since I just put you through that visual, I’ll leave you with the latest from Mr. Keenan Cahill (if you haven’t checked his videos out DO IT NOW. My favorites are Dynamite and Teenage Dream).

Have a great Tuesday! 🙂

4 thoughts on “From Pale to… Tan?

  1. That smoothie looks delicious! Ugh, I ate so bad this weekend. I need to get a blender to make some smoothies (I just have a habit of leaving the used blender in the sink….). I used my parent’s blender all the time when I lived with them.

    I try to be good with the sunscreen thing. I just have a tendency to forget until my skin is fried. On that note, I always hate it when people say things like “Man, you shoulda worn sunscreen!” when you’re burnt to a crisp. Thank you, Mr. Hindsight.

  2. I’m so glad you posted about sunscreen. I have a client who is a make up artist and when I was boasting about what sunscreen I use, she asked me how much I put on my face- I said one squirt of the moisturizer with SPF. She laughed and said honey, you need at least a coin size in your hand! I was shocked! Sad to say, I love a great tan but do not want the wrinkles that come with it 🙂

Leave a Reply

