Baby You’re a Firework…

We officially have 27 more minutes left of July 4, 2011- enjoy the holiday weekend while you can!

I had a great 4-day weekend (helloooo Friday PTO!) and I did not want it to end!

We started the 4th off with brunch at a friends apartment where he whipped up  homemade Belgian waffles topped with fresh fruit and organic syrup. My kind of “weekend” meal!

Waffles are seriously underrated in my book and it’s taking all the self-control I have not to type in www.williams-sonoma.com and order a waffle maker for our apartment.

I’m salivating just thinking about these bad boys. Thick, doughy and cooked perfectly. I ate 2 of them, and at the risk of sounding like Joey Chestnut at the Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating Contest… I could have gone for 60 more.

From there we headed to the ballpark to watch our beloved Giants take on the San Diego Padres (Can I get a “boooooo”?).

Ever since the Giants won the World Series last year the entire city has rallied behind them, and it’s such a cool feeling going to the games. We often see the players out and about around the city, and it makes you feel like you’re a part of the team in some odd (I’m reaching, I know) way.

The game was sold out (the 38th consecutive sell-out this season!) and it was a gorgeous day for America’s past time.

 

The cove behind right field is known as McCovey Cove and people always drive their sailboats, speedboats and kayaks to listen to the game and try to catch a splash hit home run (which there were 2 of yesterday!)

 

This also happened:

The water n there is FREEZING and these people were on pool rafts and in bathing suits. It was amazing.

The Giants ended up losing to the Padres (booooooooo) but it was a great way to spend the 4th and… sorry Padres, but we’re still in first. Just check the flags. (Ouch Dodgers)

Since getting a cab was not an option, and taking the bus was deemed a biohazard, we decided to walk back towards Fisherman’s wharf where we were headed to meet up with more friends for dinner and to watch the fireworks.

While passing Pier 39 we stopped to listen to Tainted Love, one of my favorite 80’s cover bands play a few songs. I’ve never been to Fisherman’s Wharf during the 4th of July weekend (I always avoided it for the obvious crowd reasons and SF in general for the winter weather  we are usually experiencing at this time) and it was a madhouse!

After 4.5 miles of walking in flip-flops, I was more than ready to take a seat and indulge in some delicious food!

Our destination? One of my favorite restaurants in SF (and the only place worth eating at in Fisherman’s Wharf), Capurros.

If you’re ever in SF, and especially if you ever find yourself in Fisherman’s Wharf, Capurros is a must-eat.

The food is fresh (hello dungeness crab!), the service is amazing, and it’s family owned and operated.

The owners greet you with a smile, the location is amazing, and the food is to die for.

I usually stick with the Grilled Sand Dabs and Homemade Ravioli, but today boyfriend and I went for something different.

We split the Grilled Chicken, Pesto, Artichoke and Grilled Onion Pizza and the Steamers Combo – steamed clams, mussels and shrimp in a garlic-herb broth that I swear had just been caught an hour earlier.

Ohmygod.

We inhaled them.

The shellfish was so fresh, and the broth was so flavorful (without being oily). What was even better? There was plenty to go around.

 

The pizza was topped with all the goodies (sooo many artichoke hearts!) and the crust was doughy and light – perfect in my opinion.

We enjoyed our food while chatting with a group of our good friends, and had a blast.

Then we moved our party out back to the patio and saw the most amazing fireworks show I’ve ever seen.

Okay it was the only fireworks show I’ve ever seen in SF because of the fog cover that’s usually happening on the 4th, but amazing nonetheless.

I’m a big fireworks fan – my favorites being the ones that look like sparkly willow trees, sparkly dresses and popcorn, and this did not disappoint. The finale was quite frankly, the best fireworks display I’ve ever seen.

Now it’s time to get ready for a solid night of sleep… the only thing making me not dread tomorrow is that it’s Tuesday! 4 more days until the next weekend, thank goodness.

This was one of the best, and most relaxing yet fun-filled weekend I’ve had in a long time and I’m sad to see it end. We had a blast!

Hope you did too! 🙂

 

What was your favorite part of your long weekend?

Mine was definitely all the time spent with friends, outdoors and all the delicious food!

2 thoughts on “Baby You’re a Firework…

Leave a Reply

