The Saturday Sunday

Happy Sunday!

Don’t you love it when Sundays really feel like Saturdays? Long weekends are the best.

We woke up after a solid 8 hours of sleep ready to take on the day

Workout

The sun was beating down (80 degrees by 10:30am! This does not happen here!) so boyfriend headed to the gym and I went for an easy run. I have serious ADD and intense boredom when it comes to doing weights/toning exercises, so I’ve been letting pilates and TRX take care of that.

I was planning on today being a rest day, but I felt good, and I wanted to move. The weather was too beautiful not to be outside and I contemplated just walking for about .5 seconds before deciding to just lace up my shoes and do it.

I’m definitely not used to running in the heat and didn’t bring any water with me. Luckily I wasn’t a total space-case this morning and lathered up the SPF and wore a running cap. Needless to say at the end of it I was parched and a sweaty mess willing it to be over.

My shins started to hurt right around mile 2 so I slowed down my pace a bit and they started to feel better. They’re still a little uncomfortable though – I think between my run yesterday and the one this morning, I need a couple of days of cross training!

Here were the stats:

 

Not bad for it being so hot out and my shins acting up! I was able to pick it up a bit the last mile and a half when the wind was at my back so I think that helped the over all pace/time.

Breakfast

When I got back to the apartment, red-faced and over-heated, the only thing that sounded good was a smoothie.

Into the blender went:

  • 1.5 C 1% Milk
  • Extra large scoop vanilla protein powder
  • Organic frozen strawberries
  • 2 handfuls organic spinach
  • Shake and a half of cinnamon
  • Squirt of Agave Nectar
I don’t know why but I wanted an extra kick – and the agave and cinnamon delivered! Gave it a little extra sweetness and it was so refreshing and delicious.
Those Peonies are getting better looking by the day. I LOVE them.
With that, we’re off to meet some friends at the beach for the day!
Ready to frolic in the waves a la Ashley Tisdale and Zac Efron .
That’s a lie and I know it – no matter how hot it gets, the Pacific Ocean up here does not change temps!
Have a great Sunday!
What’s your hot weather work-out must have?
I honestly don’t know because it never gets hot enough here to warrant that! I guess having plenty of water, wearing a hat and loading up on the SPF? (I actually did do the last 2!)
4 thoughts on “The Saturday Sunday

  1. Hot weather workout must haves:
    #1-phone: there are a lot of rattle snakes around here and I can’t run without having my phone incase I get bit. (which would probably be the end of my running life)
    #2: clothes that don’t give me a bad tan line (ha! I’m such a girl sometimes…)
    #3: stay close to home, or elliptical it up. Here in Kansas in the summer, it is hot allllll the time, never lets up.

  2. I’m with Julie on #2. I have got the stupidest looking tan lines from my t-shirts. My delts are the only part of my arm that aren’t tanned and I look silly in sleeveless right now.

    I make sure that I hydrate well beforehand and I always bring two pieces of Quench gum with me on any run longer than an hour. It’s the only thing I’ve found that doesn’t make me want to vomit if I have it while running.

  3. I hope you had a fantastic day at the beach frolicking around with Zac look-alikes! 😉 I wish I was still in San Francisco…I miss it already! (I may move there after grad school!)

    Hot weather workout must-haves: water water water! But I’m usually a wimp and go to the gym if it’s TOO hot. I sweat more than anyone else in the world, so this saves me the public humiliation of becoming a human sprinkler. Ha!

    Happy 4th! ❤

Leave a Reply

