Smorgasbowl

Tonight I spent roughly $20 doing 4 loads of laundry at the apartment. $20. Not kidding. I’m convinced this laundry cost had to somehow be an oversight on the landlord’s part… yet the price hasn’t gone down in well over a year.

Wash and Fold has to be cheaper than this.

Then I cried during an ASPCA commercial. You know which one I’m talking about. That commercial.

 

Source

Heart. Wrenching. I started blubbering worse than Lindsay Lohan in court when she realized the judge actually didn’t find her F-You nail decals humorous and she was headed to the big house.

Dinner

Since we were busy spending our life savings doing laundry tonight, we didn’t get a chance to go grocery shopping just yet so dinner was a mish-mash of what we had left in the fridge.

Enter the Smorgasbowl!

 

 

While I folded and put away laundry, boyfriend whipped up a delicious feast.

He’s a really creative cook and I love seeing what he comes up with. I’m getting better, but for now we’ll just say I’m really good at following a recipe. And washing dishes.

 

In the bowl:

  • Pulled Rotisserie Chicken
  • Chopped Turkey Bacon
  • Brown Rice
  • Spinach
  • Red Onion
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Balsamic Vinegar
  • Splash of red wine
It was SO tasty and hit the spot. He put the chicken, onions, and vinegar /splash of wine in a skillet to heat up and mix up the flavors. Then he microwaved the brown rice and mixed the rice in adding the chopped turkey bacon, spinach, cheese and voila!
Smorgasbowl.
With a little shaved Goat Cheese on top, edamame and sliced apples on the side it was a delicious, easy and fridge-emptying meal.

Which commercial/movie/music video gets the water works flowing for you?

The ASPCA commercials… forget it. I am a goner. I’ll spare you the gory details of what happened when boyfriend and I saw Marley and Me but the words “blubbering” “sobbing” and “bawling” come to mind. And yes, this was in a theater. I also refuse to ever watch Stepmom again. It’s pretty typical for me to cry during Biggest Loser, Grey’s Anatomy and Extreme Makeover Home Edition. Basically we’ll just accept the fact that I’m an emotional basketcase when it comes to these topics/shows.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Smorgasbowl

  1. Isn’t it funny how unplanned mish-mash dinners are often the tastiest and most satisfying! I love the “smorgasbowl” your boyfriend whipped up!

    I’ve definitely cried during The Biggest Loser. And don’t get me started on Stepmom. I have no idea why I bought that movie…it gets me going every time. Oh, and The Notebook too!

  2. Your boyfriend did an awesome job on the ‘smorgasbowl’! Looks very satisfying! That laundry price, not so much. Gosh, I’d do wash n’ fold and save some time…
    I used to never cry and then all of a sudden, I cry at the drop of a hat. ugh. A song on the radio, ASPCA adds, and Bambi got me. I wasn’t expecting to cry during Bambi, because I knew it was going to happen, couldn’t help it. ugh. What a sobber I can be…

  3. I cry at everything. Seriously. Every single one of those ASPCA commercials get me. I can’t even go IN to the SPCA without crying. I’ve cried at the Biggest Loser, Armageddon, UP!, Steel Magnolias, I could go on and on. Smorgasbowl looks delicious! My boyfriend is not nearly as creative, I would get back from doing the laundry and he would be sitting there looking helpless lol. When I lived in Cincinnati, the laundry always cost SO much at the apartment building I lived in. The stupid $1 a load dryers always had to run twice to get anything dry. Drove me crazy!

Leave a Reply

