Cheeseburger in Paradise

Monday is now officially over and we are all that much closer to a long holiday weekend!

Workout

Since we all know I have the work-out attention span of a 5-year old, and just doing pilates really doesn’t cut it for my mental sanity (I work out for equal parts physical and mental benefits – its amazing how much better and less stressed out you feel after a long day at work!)

My run looked like this:

0-2 @ 4.0

2-3  @ 6.0

3-23 20 seconds at 9.0-9.5, 40 seconds 6.0

23-? cool down.

It’s so hard to be precise on a treadmill I just left the speed wherever it stopped above 9.0. After my 20 minutes of intervals, I walked for a mile to cool down before high-tailing it out of there.

It was a HARD run. After about 10 minutes, I found myself having to tell myself “just 9 more… just 8 more…” to keep myself going. I was tired and it was hard to push myself to sprint that fast, even if it was only for 20 seconds. I felt amazing when I was finished and so glad I pushed through.

Just goes to show that running is just as much mental stamina as is it physical! Talk yourself into it!

**********

I’m currently watching “The Best Thing I Ever Ate” on the Food Network (we’ll ignore the fact that my mouth is WATERING for a bacon cheeseburger. Yes, really. It’s all I currently want in life) and it has a bunch of Food Network chefs talking about their all-time favorite burger from places all over the country.

One of my favorite Food Network chefs has Bay Area roots – Tyler Florcnce.

I may or may not have attended a cookbook signing at Williams Sonoma and asked for a picture. I also may or may not have purchased 3 cookbooks – 2 as gifts, 1 for my selfish little paws.

Tyler’s pick was Pearl’s Phat Burger -which is conveniently located right by his shop in Mill Valley, CA.

It says they have an SF location, but I will be taking Tyler’s advice and hitting up the Mill Valley location – you just never know. When it comes to cheeseburgers, I have very discerning taste buds. 

His go-to is the 8 oz Deluxe Burger 80/20 ground beef, seared on both sides with 3 slices of thick bacon, lettuce, tomato, onion, mayo and sharp cheddar.

Rather than asking for your burger rare, I think you should adopt Tyler’s slang and ask that it “tip-toes across the grill”.

Then they’ll know you’re not an amateur. 😉

When a burger is described as “Perfection between two sesame seed loveliness.” And that “Someone sound the alarm because there’s an avalanche of cheese coming out of here” I don’t ask questions. I just eat the darn cheeseburger.

 

 

 

My favorite burger as of late from Barney’s Gourmet Burgers –

Barney’s Classic Burger

Natural Niman Ranch ground chuck, flame-broiled. Served with melted Cheddar Cheese, fresh red onion and lettuce (hold the tomatoes please)

I have yet to find a burger more delicious… but I promise you I will give it a hell of a try.

Time to cook dinner… we’re thinking a smorgasboard of what’s left in the fridge since laundry beat out grocery shopping tonight.

 

What’s the best burger (or veggie burger!) you ever ate?

2 thoughts on “Cheeseburger in Paradise

  1. Val’s in Hayward, hands down! My Dad started taking me there when I was a little girl and nothing has ever compared. They also have pancakes twice the size of your head and the best milkshakes!! I highly recommend you make the 30 or so minute drive!

Leave a Reply

