I Came, I Spun, I Conquered

No I can’t take credit for that one. That would be all Caroline.

Workout

Today during my lunch hour, I went to the gym to take a spin class with my favorite instructor Caroline.

Seriously, how many instructors start the class with 1995’s greatest hit, “Hotstepper” by Ini Kamoze?

You know what I’m talking about. How could this song not get you seriously ready to work out?

You know it’s going to be a great class when she follows it up with “Whoomp There It Is” (yes I had to Google if it was “Whoop”, “Woop”, or “Whomp”). 3 strikes and I’m out.

I will forever associate that song with one of my all-time favorite movies – D2 The Mighty Ducks. Jump to 1:30 to get the full effect of the song.

It’s really just become an early 90’s kinda day for me.

Over the course of 45 minutes, we covered about 14 miles, and my legs are already seriously feeling the burn. Great way to start off the weekend!

New to Spinning?

It’s a GREAT way to get an awesome workout in, work your legs, and burn some serious calories.

“Spinning,” is a group fitness class where you ride a stationary bicycle for exercise. The instructor leads you through a variety of rides. There are hills to climb and sprints to race in. Many times, the ride matches the music, so there will be a mix of fast tempo songs for sprints, and slower tempo songs for the uphill rides. You adjust your own resistance with a knob on your bike.

Your butt gets awfully sore after your first class. The seats are built for performance, not comfort. There’s not a lot you can do to avoid this soreness. You can try wearing padded cycle shorts or bring your own seat cover with you. The good news is that the soreness goes away after a few classes.

Special cycle shoes are available at bike shops. If you think you’re going to be a spinning regular, it’s completely worth it to invest in a pair of cycle shoes. Most of the time, you have to purchase cleats separately and install them onto the shoes. Installation is super easy and only takes a minute. 

Read more: 5 Things to Know About Spinning

Lunch

I left the class seriously parched, and since I wasn’t able to make my protein smoothie this morning (we may or may not have gone through a gallon of milk in 3 days) I was really craving some fresh produce!

I should have known not to ignore my gut when it told me to go with the PB Bomb Smoothie from Fuel Cafe .

Instead, I thought I was doing the “healthy” and “mature” thing by opting for the Ultimate Green.

  • Almond Milk
  • Green Vibrance
  • Dino Kale
  • Spinach
  • Apple
  • A Touch of Agave
Very healthy? Oh yes. Tasty? Well that’s a different story.
They presented me with this.
Looked innocent enough. Had the look of my favorite Naked Juice “Green Machine” so I hadn’t lost faith.
Then I took a sip.
Oh. I didn’t realize I ordered grass ground up with almond milk. I’m pretty sure that “touch” of agave was forgotten too.
To give you a better idea, it tasted exactly like it looked. There were pieces of foliage in every sip I took.
From now on, I’m sticking with my instincts. And my instincts tell me PB + Chocolate > Blended Grass.
What I was a fan of however were these babies:
In case you can’t read that (apparently the hunger shakes kicked in while I attempted the iPhone photo)
  • Organic Medjool Dates (I gagged a little upon seeing this but you can’t taste them, and if you can, apparently I like dates)
  • Lamonds (I’m pretty sure that’s supposed to be almonds because my Google search pulled up nothing for “lamonds”
  • Pecans
  • Walnuts
  • Hemp Protein
  • Goji Berries
  • Maca Powder (a nutrition packed root vegetable rich in amino acids, phytonutrients, vitamins, and minerals)
  • Dark Cacao
They were really good! Chewy, crunchy, chocolatey. I would definitely be back for more.
Ultimate Green I never want to see you again.
Off to finish out the workday!
I’ll leave you with… can it be? Celebrities working out and looking like normal people breaking a sweat?

Of course not. What do you think this is? Personally I was trying to decide between the Chanel and the Hermes for the gym today too. Really, what’s a girl to do?  😉

6 thoughts on “I Came, I Spun, I Conquered

  1. ahh i just got a little jealous of nicole richie. she always looks so damn cool! i want those sunglasses she has too! maybe forever 21 will have a ripoff pair

    • Seriously! How does she leave the gym looking like she’s ready to stay out all day running errands and feel good about it!?

      PS- the formatting on this post is killing me! i think i need to upgrade to the custom word press… do you have that?

  2. I wish I could just look normal period after I workout. I’m always a sweaty nasty mess. I really need to get some spin shoes. I kept putting it off thinking the second I bought them I’d end up suddenly not going to spin any longer. I’ve been thinking that for oh about 8 or 9 months now.

    • Oh my goodness ME TOO. I’m always red-faced and my once straight hair turns into a sweaty, frizzy mess! At least we know we’re working, right?

      I actually bought the shoes for outdoor cycling and the guy told me they were great spinning shoes too… I will say I can honestly feel a difference in spin too… I feel a lot more stable on the bike! They’re an investment but depending on how much you go (or want to do!) worth it! I got Shimanos – great fit for women!

  3. Kristine!! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for the glowing review! That is so nice of you! Im so glad you had fun in class. That hotstepper song is AWESOME isnt it? Next time you come Ill play “It takes two” with EzE. It will be a high quality good time 🙂

    And you so totally caught my nerdy, “I came I spun I conqured line” to the Jay-Z & Linkin Park song. Im a HUGE nerd. And you have great ears! LOVE IT.

    THANK You for this! Have to share this one 🙂

Leave a Reply

