You Are What You Eat

Happy Thursday everyone!

Hope you’re excited about GIVE AWAY 🙂 These bags are honestly the best!

Today started off… a lot like yesterday did!

Attitude free (thank you Keurig!) Cup o’ Joe to bring me back into the land of the living.

My new favorite Tera’s Whey Vanilla Protein Powder

Green (sludge) smooothie

I got crazy on today’s smoothie and added:

The mango made it taste even better and sweeter than usual… that addition is here to stay!

You Are What You Eat

The past couple of weeks I’ve been making a real effort to eat healthy. I truly believe that staying fit is 80% diet, 20% exercise and 10% genetic (that little 10% counts for a LOT!)

I’ve been trying to load my diet with fruits, veggies, lean proteins, healthy fats, fiber, and whole grain carbs.

It’s not a weight thing, or a diet thing – when I eat healthier and put better food in, I have SO much more energy, am happier and in a better mood, and just FEEL better all day long.

It also helps with my extreme sleepiness.

Source

I’m one of those people who will be asleep within 10 minutes of starting a movie. (Movie theaters excluded.) It literally hits me like a ton of bricks and then I am OUT.

I can’t even tell you how many movies I’ve missed and nights that have been cut short because I physically can’t keep my eyes open. It’s not that I’m overly tired from the day,  I was fine an hour ago. But I’ve noticed that when this instant coma hits, it’s almost always after a large, carb filled meal that leaves me stuffed to the brim.

“…Providing your body with the optimum fuel helps to streamline the energy production process, while exercise helps to boost your mood for a sense of more energy.

When you eat unhealthy foods, such as sugary treats or refined carbohydrates, they are digested quickly, resulting in quick but fleeting energy harvested by your metabolism, which is often followed by fatigue. When you choose healthy foods, such as protein and complex carbohydrates, they take longer to digest and therefore allow long-lasting energy.
The moral of the story is that the past couple of weeks, when I make an honest effort to fuel with healthy, (and still hearty!) foods, my energy level stays more consistent throughout the day and night, rather than looking like this:
Rather than falling asleep on the couch at 9:30, I’m staying up later, and going to sleep at my normal time, and sleeping better throughout the night and not waking up tired as tired. 🙂
But something sweet always finds its way into the end of my meals! Why deprive yourself? 🙂
Do you ever notice that certain foods or big meals (aka Thanksgiving) put you to sleep right away? Are you an early bird or a night owl?
Although I complain relentlessly about having to get up early, for me when I finally get up, I’m up and can function surprisingly well in the mornings! 🙂
4 thoughts on “You Are What You Eat

  1. oo i just made a spinach smoothie…mines actually kinda gross haha i have frozen mango-should have added it!

    i am definitely a night owl. i wish so bad i was an early riser bc i feel so productive when i am! like one of those people that gets up at 5 and runs…maybe someday!

    • the first time i did it i could taste it too! add more fruit, or i swear try this protein powder – it totally masks the taste!

      i wish i could stay up later! even being a morning person those 5am runs just will not happen for me 😦

Leave a Reply

