Snack Attack

Right around 3pm every day – my growling stomach signals that it’s snack time.

Breakfast is usually consumed by 8am, lunch by 12ish, so mid-day is the perfect time for a little something-something.

Some of my favorites as of late?

Kind Bars

I cannot get enough of these! I’ve probably been eating about 1 a day for the last week since I discovered Trader Joe’s carries them. Of the ones I’ve tried – Almond & Coconut, Apple Cinnamon & Pecan, Dark Chocolate Cherry Cashew + Antioxidants and Almond, Walnut, Macadamia + Protein are my favorites.

Added bonus?

“KIND is a brand of all natural whole nut and fruit bars made from ingredients you can see and pronounce.”

That Indulgence Cube is as good as ordered as far as I’m concerned.

Lara Bars

I know everyone has a big love affair with Lara Bars but quite frankly, I just wasn’t really feeling it. All the flavors seemed a bit monotonous and none really stuck out to me. The thing I do love however is that like Kind Bars they too have between 4-6 ingredients in them and minimal sugar – all which I can not only pronounce, but actually know what they are too. That doesn’t happen often.

But I still wasn’t sold.

“…made with only 4 simple ingredients, including dates, peanuts, unsweetened cherries and a touch of salt. Also comes with 6 grams of protein and no crusts! “

That is until I tried the Peanut Butter and Jelly Lara Bar.

Anyone who knows me knows I am a sucker for PB&J anything. One of my favorite lunches is a PB&J with a chocolate milk on the side. To me, nothing beats that flavor combination. I will eat it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner (and actually did once at a summer camp when I was 10).

Lara Bar I misjudged you. I also bought a Blueberry Muffin flavor and I have high hopes.

Please don’t fail me now.

Justin’s Maple Almond Butter with Apples or Celery Sticks

Justin’s Maple Almond Butter (or literally any other product they sell – you’ve already heard my undying love for their Dark Chocolate PB Cups) is unbelievably good.

I may or may not be guilty of eating it straight from the packet when I run out of fruit to put it on. They use only Organic or All Natural products and in my opinion as a nut butter connoisseur, they put everyone to SHAME.

It’s a great afternoon snack slathered (I slather, you are free to put as much as you like!) on sliced apples (the snack I was convinced I had “invented” in college), sliced celery, whole wheat crackers, in the middle of a sliced banana, really anything.

All of these snacks pack a great protein punch, are full of all natural and/or organic ingredients and also work great as a pre/post workout snack.I like to snack on food high in protein so that it keeps me full longer and I’m not mindlessly grazing all day long and never feeling full or satisfied.

Speaking of – I have an apple and some almond butter calling my name!

Have a great rest of your day! 🙂

PS- Don’t forget to enter my GIVE AWAY!

8 thoughts on “Snack Attack

  1. mm love all those snacks! i love pb and j lara bars! i really like the blueberry muffin ones too. some people don’t love those for some reason but i think they have a good texture. oh and definitely tried justins pb cups recently and they are awesomeeee! obviously..i expect nothing less!

  2. Thanks for recommending the kind bar! i always see it at starbucks but never could tell if it was healthy or not. now I know and will for sure give it a try!

    • Ugh I know. At Safeway this week the honey PB packets were only $.99 so I stocked up! I’m a PB and Almond butter fan – sunflower seed butter is next on my list to try!

      I’ll have to give the choc chip larabars a try next! i just cant get into the other flavors!

Leave a Reply

