Wrap It Up

I am officially going to be SORE tomorrow. We’re talking unmovable, even getting out of bed hurts sore.

Why you ask?

Because in all of my soreness today, I thought going to Mat Pilates at lunch was a great idea – for “stretching”.

Wrong.

Yoga includes stretching. Pilates includes 60 minutes of core, arm, and booty work.

And this. The Magic Circle. (Really, who comes up with these names?)

Source

There is nothing magic about this circle. This circle inspires the BURN that renders legs useless.

Source

Oh sure, that looks easy. I thought so too. Was I ever mistaken.

Soreness aside and 2 classes in I’m really liking Pilates. I leave feeling strong (and weak all at the same time!) 😉 and I know the soreness is a good indication I’m using muscles I don’t use enough.

As a beginner, be prepared to get corrected by the instructor a lot. Yes, it’s an ego blow, and yes, when you are the only one she’s correcting it’s a little embarrassing, but it’s really the only way you’re going to get better. In these classes, technique and posture is everything – so correct away!

I also guarantee the people that can flawlessly do the Teaser pose now had to start somewhere.

Lunch

I decided to buy today’s lunch mainly because I woke up way too tired to prepare anything, and the wrap I had in mind can last me 2 lunches – it’s HUGE.

My gym has a “restaurant” called the Fuel Cafe and they have the most amazing food. The best part is, it’s open to the public for lunch hours.

It’s all organic, local, fresh, clean – right up my ally!

(The all green, all raw smoothie is next on my list right behind the Chocolate PB Bomb (all natural PB with Chocolate Protein Powder and frozen organic bananas).

The Fuel Cafe’s of Northern California have one goal: To support your wellness goals.  They are your direct local resource for delicious, prepared foods that are designed to meet specific wellness goals.

The ingredients of every item on our menu have been thoughtfully combined to provide perfect nutrition.  So you don’t have to worry about what you are putting in your body.  Follow your heart, choose your goal, we’ll provide the Nutrition.  Enjoy!

Recently added items for Spring ’11 include Organic Dino Kale, Organic Quinoa Cups, Green Vibrance & Kale Ultimate Green Smoothies, and Organic Buckwheat Soba Noodles!

Today I went for my favorite wrap.

Wrapped Up:

  • Spinach tortilla
  • Turkey
  • Fresh basil pesto
  • a LOT of organic spinach
  • Avocado (honestly I think this went in by mistake since it’s never happened before, but I wasn’t complaining!)
  • Red Onions

Then then grill the entire wrap, making those delicious grill lines that somehow make everything taste better.

Yes, this is 1/2 the wrap.

It was SO tasty and surprisingly the avocado and pesto combo went really well together. Definitely got me thinking about all the different wrap combinations I could make at home – BBQ chicken, red onions and arugula sounds amazing!

Off to finish up the afternoon in the office… a couple more hours and 2 work days is all that stands between me and this weekend! 🙂

Have you ever been corrected in a class? (Yoga, pilates, etc) Are you an “all for it” or a “please don’t touch me” ?

When I first started taking yoga classes, my friend Lexi and I would always get “adjusted” by a teacher who was extremely touchy with “corrections” which resulted in downright awkward and uncomfortable situations and the 2 of us laughing hysterically about it after the fact. Thankfully, I’ve never had an experience like that since then!

Leave a Reply

