Mamacita! Ole!

Happy Almost Mid-Week!

Tonight I met up with my friend Kendall and a couple of her friends for dinner at a great restaurant in the Marina, Mamacitas. It’s always fun meeting new people, especially when said people share a ton of the same interests and within minutes you feel like you’ve known them forever.

 

(Mostly) everything there is hand-made from scratch using fresh and family-farmed ingredients (which you all know I’m a sucker for!)

SF Gate calls them one of the best Mexican places in the Bay Area.

I don’t eat there often because it’s a bit on the expensive side and it’s ALWAYS packed. No joke, we had a reservation at 7:30 tonight (Tuesday) and it may as well have been a Saturday night – the place was packed to the brim. What I do love about it is that even though it’s always filled to capacity it’s always a good mixture of the straight-from-work crowd, the post-workout crowd (the amount of Lululemon in this restaurant is insane), or the got-off-work-early-and-clearly-have-already-been-home crowd.

I put myself in the 3rd category. 🙂

 

 

We all started off with a round of drinks (White Wine para mi) paired with my personal favorite – Guac!

Guacamole al Don—crushed avocado with jalapeno, lime, cilantro, queso fresco, jitomate & fresh tortilla chips

Ohmygod. 

Definitely ranked up there with my homemade guac. (Did you really think I would diss my own cooking??)

After eating about 3/4 of my body weight in chips and guac, for my main course I opted for the Tortilla Soup (over my usual go-to the carnitas tacos- there was quite the mental struggle happening) – which was surprisingly filling and did not disappoint!

Sopa de Tortilla — traditional “azteca” soup with crispy tortilla strips, avocado, black beans, red hominy & queso oaxaca

The strips, avocado, black beans and queso oaxaca were all arranged in the bottom of the bowl and the “soup” came in a little clay pitcher which the waitress proceed to pour onto the topping at the table.


It’s the little things.

Apologies for the lack of pictures – you have my word it will never happen again.

I’m off to finish watching Chopped with Boyfriend, my arms are so sore from TRX today (yes, already) that I can barely type!

Have a great night! 🙂

 

What’s your favorite part about eating out? ? Do you ever watch  Chopped?

I love (very recently) trying new dishes (more on my life as a picky eater in an upcoming post!) 

Boyfriend and I LOVE watching chopped – I love the random combinations of totally obscure food items they have to mesh together to make a dish, and do it in 20-30 minutes! I also feel like at this point I know the judges personally and always know when they will/will not like a dish. Aaron Sanchez ad Geoffrey Zakarian I’m talking to you.

6 thoughts on “Mamacita! Ole!

  1. My favorite parts about eating out are the creativity of dishes and the ability to try something you normally wouldn’t. My boyfriend and I usually only go out to eat at the nicer restaurants in Boston and it’s always so much fun looking at the menus trying to pick out something creative and interesting. I’m a huge fan of dessert (who isn’t, really?) and to date, my absolute favorite dish has been an Oatmeal Stout Bread Pudding.

    haha, I love watching Chopped too!! Did you catch the All-Stars run a couple months ago?

    • Can you believe I’ve never had bread pudding? I LOVE dessert – fresh sorbet and/or tiramisu is my favorite!

      When I was in Boson for a couple nights in March we went to Legal’s and Wagamama (I studied abroad in London and LOVED it there!)

      Yes! We did watch All-Stars! I love the guy that won. Normally I fall asleep before they announce the winner so my boyfriend has to fill me in… but that show never gets old!

Leave a Reply

