Who You Callin’ a Chicken?

Productivity is my middle name tonight.

Interval Run, Eyebrow wax, Whole Foods (food and flowers!), cleaned the apartment, put laundry away, cooked dinner, and picked boyfriend up at the airport – hands down the best part of my night!

Let’s start at the beginning.

Workout

I felt great after my mat pilates class this afternoon but I never feel like I’ve really gotten a good workout unless I do some form of cardio It has to be the (teenage/high school) athlete in me!

After work I headed to the gym to do a quick round of High Intensity Interval Training (HIIT). These workouts are great because you do a LOT in a short amount of time. (Because really who wants to be on the dreadmill for more than 30 minutes?) Not this girl.

My run looked like this:

Minute             Pace

0-2                      4.0 MPH

2-22                    20 seconds @ 9.3 MPH, 40 seconds at 6.0 MPH

22-25                  4.0 MPH

I was more than ready to be done by the end.

Not too shabby for a 20 minute run!

“The benefits of interval training can be substantial. You will burn more calories during and after your workout, get faster and stronger, and increase overall cardiovascular fitness. Interval training also relieves the boredom sometimes associated with treadmill training.”

Source

Dinner

Over the weekend, my mom gave me a potted Rosemary plant she had grown from a seedling. My mom is amazing with flowers, plants, herbs, vegetable gardens, you name it. She’s a master gardener and works extremely hard on her yard – and it shows. It’s beautiful!

I knew I wanted to incorporate the Rosemary into dinner tonight – and I had a couple of Organic Chicken Breasts to use up so…

Balsamic and Olive Oil Rosemary Chicken was born!

  • Coast chicken breasts with balsamic vinegar (about 1-2 tsp)
  • Then coat with olive oil (same amount – you don’t need a lot of either, just enough to coat them)
  • Chop up 3 sprigs of fresh Rosemary leaves (can’t emphasize the fresh herbs enough!)
  • Chop up 3-4 fresh garlic cloves
  • Season chicken with rosemary, garlic, salt and pepper
  • Bake at 450 degrees for about 20 minutes (until juices are clear and chicken is cooked through entirely
  • Enjoy!
The chicken was SO moist and flavorful – I will definitely be making this again soon. Sometimes chicken can taste so boring but the fresh herbs and balsamic really kicked it up a notch. I enjoyed it with a side of brown rice, a glass of low-fat milk and sliced up apples.
And of course one of these was necessary to finish off the meal.
 These Pecan Blondie bars are unreal. Recipe will be posted in the morning!
I’m off to relax with boyfriend for the rest of the night – hope you had a great one! 🙂
What’s your favorite way to prepare chicken? What do you do to beat boredom on the dreadmill?
I think my all-time favorite is chicken parmesan but this one is giving it a run for it’s money!
Intervals are the BEST way to beat treadmill boredom and get an amazing workout in! They can be speed, incline, anything!
6 thoughts on “Who You Callin’ a Chicken?

  1. Intervals are what got me through last NE winter since I couldn’t run outside. I was making up workouts on the fly over the winter, pyramid, interval, etc. It was the only way to prevent the boredom.

    I usually prepare my chicken with a light layer of spiced taco cheese and bake it. I dice up some avocado and put it on the side with other misc. side dishes.

    Your rosemary plant puts both of mine to shame! 🙂

    • I swear it’s the only way I can stay on the treadmill! Otherwise I just find myself staring at the time and willing it to go faster!

      That chicken sounds amazing! I love avocado, I think I need to try that!

      My mom has the green thumb that produced that beauty… if it had been me, it probably wouldn’t have ever gotten past seedling form! 😉

  2. I love rosemary – I’m pretty sure I could eat it on anything savory.

    I’m still trying to figure out how to get over treadmill boredom. I seriously do NOT know how people run more than 7 miles on treadmills! I do think intervals/sprints/having some kind of goal for each mile helps. I still dread it though!

    • Me too- adds so much flavor!

      The dreadmill as I like to call it kills me! It is SO boring! The only way I can stand to stay on it is if I’m changing the speed/incline/what have you ever minute or so! And even then I’m counting down until it’s over!

Leave a Reply

