Lunchtime Pilates

Monday is now HALFWAY over! 🙂 Or basically over if you’re on Central or Eastern time! Jealous.

It is sweltering outside. (I realize it’s only 81 but if Accu Weather says the “real feel” is 94, that’s sweltering!)

And I’m LOVING it.

 

I went to college in Arizona (GO CATS!) so I got pretty used to dry, glorious heat in the summer time. And while that may have been a bit extreme for my taste, I LOVE the feel of the hot sun! Please, please, please stay for the weekend! I may even dip my toes into the Pacific Ocean. (No matter how hot it gets ,the water is bone-chillingly cold!)

At lunch today I decided I was in need of some serious core work so I went to a Mat Pilates class at my gym.


What is Mat Pilates?

“Most exercisers complete pilates on an exercise mat. The gravity’s pull on your own body weight is what provides the resistance necessary for building strength and improving flexibility. The workout routine is structured sequentially, moving from one exercise to the next, typically increasing exercise intensity progressively throughout the workout. Additional exercise implements can be used in mat pilates, including an exercise ball or pilates block. Common exercises include the hundred, hamstring stretch, roll up, single leg stretch and the saw. Mat pilates may be better for beginners because it’s not as confusing to complete each of the exercises as it is on the reformer, which requires more specific positioning.”

Source

I’m lucky enough that my gym is just a stone’s throw from my office and that they offer some amazing classes all day long. I’m really good about getting the cardio portion of my workouts covered, but if I truly want those Aniston arms (and who are we kidding, those abs) I’m going to have to step up the toning work.

This class kicked. my. booty.

Although not as badly as the man next to me, who proceeded to grunt his way through the entire class, more out of breath and breathing louder than Charlie Sheen would be at the end of a marathon.

My core feels like a rock and my arms and back have that hurts-so-good soreness/jello feel to them.

I’m making an active/honest effort to attend that class twice a week. You heard it here. 🙂


Lunch

Lunch was consumed in about .5 seconds so my camera couldn’t act fast enough (I’m a terrible person) but it was a variation of this:

  • 2 Slices Light Whole Wheat Bread
  • Laughing Cow Garlic & Herb Cheese Wedge
  • Deli Style Over Roasted Turkey
  • 2 handfuls of Spinach
  • Bag of BBQ PopChips (It’s an addiction fueled by my office keeping them fully stocked in our kitchens).
  • Organic Strawberries

I haven’t had a chance to go to the grocery store, so lunch was really just an “empty out the fridge before things go bad” meal. I have big plans to hit Whole Foods after work today! 🙂

Hope your Monday is going (or went!) great!

 

7 thoughts on “Lunchtime Pilates

  1. It was a pretty boring Monday, but at least it’s over (east coast here). I keep seeing those PopChips, are they any good?

    I can’t ever photograph my lunches because I work in a secure facility, so you’re a step ahead of me there. 🙂

  2. haha glad the man next to you in pilates made you smile…. I bet he was just as hot as the hairy guy who took his shirt OFF during your first spin class 😉 Oh boy Ill never forget the look on your (and every other grossed out spinners) face when he stripped down on a bike 😉

    • This just made me laugh out loud. The poor guy next to me in Pilates – walked in like he owned the place, and then Jen owned him.

      I’ll be in Spin on Thursday (Hopefully sans any shirtless hairy men!) with my new clip ins! Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

