Sen-sational

Hi everyone! Hope you’re all having a great night and start to your weekend!

My weekend started a little early when we surprised my co-worker with an impromptu baby shower. (Nothing says classy like a conference room!)

We all enjoyed some home-made cupcakes, a champagne toast (the momma-to-be had sparkling water!) and some piping hot, fresh out of the oven SPECIALTYS COOKIES.

This bakery/deli/cafe has locations all over downtown San Francisco and even sends out “Warm Cookie Alerts” to their e-mail subscribers when a fresh batch of cookies is ready! They are HUGE, buttery and unbelievable. My favorite kind is hands down the Snickerdoodle (I’m instantly drawn to anything with cinnamon).

From there my co-workers and I all headed down the street to a bar/restaurant called Sens for a going-away happy hour for our manager. He’s moving to the Mid West so we wanted to send him off in style. They have this amazing tented patio that let in just enough of the breeze from the Bay, and they also had a DJ playing music, which never hurts in my opinion! I had never been to Sens (SFers please don’t disown me!) for happy hour before and it did not disappoint!

Since the whole day had felt really summer-y, I opted for a Cakebread Cellars Sauvignon Blanc that was very crisp and refreshing. I’d never had Cakebread before but I am definitely a fan! I’m not normally one for white one but sitting “outdoors” on a warm summer day and it just seemed like the right choice!

After chit-chatting with co-workers and saying goodbye to my manager I headed to my parents house to enjoy a family dinner for Father’s Day. My little brother is home for the weekend before summer school starts for him (he’s almost a college grad, YAY!) and my mom whipped up a delicious dinner of Steamed Stuffed Artichokes (mine was gone in about 3 minutes), Marinated Grilled Tri-Tip, and Giada’s Herbed Quinoa (hands down my favorite Food Network chef!) that was SO flavorful – I will definitely be replicating.

Clearly you can tell what my favorite part of the meal was.

I’m laying low tonight (getting at 5am really does a girl in!) and looking forward to an early morning workout, and a weekend of relaxing and sun! Hope your Friday – busy or relaxing- was a great one!

Do you happy hour often? What is your favorite type of cookie?  Who’s your favorite Food Network chef?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Sen-sational

Leave a Reply

