Special Delivery!

Happy Almost Friday! 🙂 Hope your day is going well. It’s 5:00 here in SF so I’m getting ready to finish up work for the day and head over to the gym for a nice sweaty session of HIIT Intervals (I like doing 20 seconds at 9.5 and 40 at 5.0 to recover) and then some upper body weights (which bore me to tears but are deemed necessary to get my arms from nada to Aniston.)

Who, speaking of, is 42 and looks like THIS. Sign me up for Yoga every day for the rest of my life please.

“I work out every day. I do a lot of running. Exercise is so important.” – JA

Anyway, it FINALLY feels like summer in SF! (Or as much as we’re going to get for the time being – I’ll take what I can get) and last night, since we don’t have a grill (I blame city living entirely) we did the next best thing and ordered take-out… that was grilled! We ordered from a restaurant called Asqew Grill and it did NOT disappoint!

Boyfriend ordered the Cilantro Lime Chicken Sqewer with the Grilled Mascarpone Polenta as his side, and I went for the Blackened Prawns and my own side of the Polenta. We also ordered the Grilled Artichoke Halves to split as an appetizer which came with the MOST delicious buttery aioli sauce for dipping. So good and definitely made me think about grilling (on a pan on the stove top) my own skewers!

(Sub-par lighting is a result of being too hungry to think straight.)

Then this afternoon, something fantastic happened.

Do you know the only thing better than getting an e-mail that you have a package delivery at work? When said package happens to be a bottle of your very favorite kind of WINE!

Amicus is a wine produced by my very favorite winery, X Winery. They’re located in Napa and cultivate their grapes all over Northern California. What they lack in a huge, fancy estate vineyard they more than make up for in taste, and a tasting room that feels, homey, comfortable, and fun.

Another reason I prefer X to many other wines is that they use methods of sustainable viticulture and winemaking.

  • Their used barrels are recycled and turned into composters and rain barrels used by homeowners throughout the USA. They also recycle and refurbish all of their old barrel racks.
  • Bottles are made of 70-80% recycled glass
  • Member of the California Certified Organic Farmers

Since getting more into nutrition and eating “real” foods, knowing where my food (and drink!) comes from matters a lot more to me than it did before. I like knowing that while producing cases of delicious wine, they’re also looking out for our environment! Not to mention that wine (especially reds) have long been thought of as good for our hearts (when consumed in moderation – no more than 2 drinks/night for the men, and 1/night for the ladies).

So  because it’s Thursday, go fill your glass up with some heart-healthy polyphenols (antioxidants found in red wine) and cheers to the work-week ending! 🙂

What’s your favorite type of wine? (Or drink in general- mocktails count too!) Do you ever order take-out? What’s your favorite kind?

2 thoughts on “Special Delivery!

  1. Of course I spy a post that includes a picture of wine to comment on. HA! I LOVE wine country – usually stick to Sonoma when I visit but have been to Napa for a day the last two trips we’ve gone out. I find that the smaller vineyards and wineries are the world’s best kept secrets!! Some of my favorite wine is from tiny vineyards you’ve never heard of. And I now officially want a glass of wine. 😉
    PS. I’d kill for Jennifer Aniston’s body. Holy crap.

Leave a Reply

