Brinner

Soooo that HIIT workout…  Upon arriving at the gym and realizing there were no open treadmills, I made a game-time decision to hop onto the Elliptical for 45 minutes (Level 9 resistance, 20 incline – feel. the. burn) all while reading my new obsession, The Hunger Games. Sometimes I go to the gym with a plan and stick to it to a T… while other times I go just knowing I want to get a good sweat in, no matter the method. I’m totally ok with either!

I am so on board with Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss – exactly how I picture her!

I am one of those rare people that can read books and magazines while on the Elliptical or during a long leisurely run on the Dreadmill. I’d ballpark it at being able to read up to about a 7.2 mph while running. I find that it makes the time go by SO much faster! And often times, like tonight, I find myself adding an extra few minutes on so I can finish my chapter before stopping. Whatever works right?

For those that care, and/or are fellow Katniss fans like myself – I’m currently starting “Part III – The Victor” and loving EVERY page of it. For those that haven’t read the book – this is a must read. 

After I was good and sweaty and red-faced I did my upper body which consisted of the following (x3).

  • 15 Push Ups (Girly Style – I can do about 2 of the regular kind – Madonna I am not.)
  • 15 Tricep Dips
  • 15 Bicep Curls (using a resistance band with the purple hand grips – apparently a Level 2 zone, also known as 2nd from the weakest 🙂
  • Plank – 1 minute
  • Side Plank – 1 minute
On my way home I ran into the grocery store and stopped momentarily to gape at the newest goods. Finally the celebrity gossip powers-that-be have listened to my griping about all of the recent celebrity reality stars they keep putting on their covers and gave us something newsworthy. I cannot get enough about the royals. In my opinion Pippa + Harry would equal the most amazing couple England could possibly produce – but sadly the “royal” she’s been seen hanging around with happens to be her ex. Blast.
Grabbed all the essentials and headed home. But you know after my arms powerhouse a la Aniston I had to grab a couple of these:
Dinner
Tonight’s meal features one of my favorites – Breakfast for Dinner! I am a huge fan of breakfast foods and could eat them at every meal – every now and again (ok more like once a week) when we don’t feel like cooking, have had a long week, or have errands to run after work we’ll take some eggs, throw them on a skillet and sunny-side, over-easy or scramble them to eggy perfection!
Tonight’s Brinner (Breakfast + Dinner… like what I did there?) 😉
  • 2 Organic Eggs
  • Organic Spinach
  • Parmesan Cheese (my personal favorite on eggs)
  • Whole Wheat Toast
The entire meal took about 10 minutes from fridge/pantry to plate – my kind of Thursday dinner! It was delicious, satisfying, but not too filling (it’s almost 9:30 here so the last thing I want to do is go to bed stuffed!)
For dessert I snagged a couple of frozen Thin Mints (who says Girl Scout cookies can only be enjoyed in the Spring?) and now I’m off to relax… hope you have a great night!
Do you usually go to the gym with a plan or just wing it with how you feel? Can you read on exercise machines? Who’s a celebrity you admire for their dedication to fitness? What’s your favorite no-frills dinner?
4 thoughts on “Brinner

  1. It makes me so happy to know that someone else reads while pounding miles on the treadmill! I always get strange looks from fellow gym-goers…haha. But you’re right: reading really DOES make the time fly. 🙂

    I totally agree that Harry and Pippa would make an adorable couple…Chelsy who? And eggs for dinner is a definite ‘do’ in my house. I make “binner” at least twice/week!

    • I do too! But I swear there’s nothing better than getting in a good run AND catching up on your reading! I swear by it 🙂

      I definitely bought the Us Weekly with Pippa and Harry for today’s treadmill run 🙂

      What is it about breakfast for dinner that is just so darn appealing?! Hope you have a great weekend!

  2. I had Breakfast for dinner last night too! And it was eggs with spinach and parmesan cheese, too! best dinner EVER

Leave a Reply

