A-Z’s of F-o-o-d

Hi! Hope your evening is going well! Hope you enjoyed the post on swimming – I can’t say enough what an intense workout it is! My heart is pumpin’ the entire time!

Speaking of enjoying your night – Is anyone else absolutely addicted in that can’t-miss-a-minute way to Locked Up Abroad on the National Geographic Channel? The new season just started up and tonight’s takes place in the Philippines. Maybe it’s because I Studied Abroad in London in college, but I’m just fascinated with this show! And every time I watch it I find myself yelling at the TV

“No not one last time! You’re going to get caught! You know they check for that at airports! Just stop while you’re ahead!”

Why don’t they ever listen to me? Sigh.

Since I’m new to these parts and I’ve seen this on a few other blogs (including CleanEatingChelsey, a blog I hugely admire and one of the inspirations for starting this little blog – it’s also her “blogiversary” today so go check it out!) I thought I would share with you all a little about me!

A is for Apple: What’s your favorite variety?

If given a choice, I will always go for Fuji’s – but slice one up in front of me or chop it and throw it in a bowl of Greek yogurt and I will eat it regardless. I have a strong dislike for bruised or damaged looking apples – yes I will judge that book by it’s cover!

B is for Bread: Regardless of nutrition, what is your favorite type?

Pain Epi from Acme Bread. Dipped into EVOO and Balsamic and things really don’t get any better.

C is for Cereal: What is your favorite kind?

Cheerios – Plain, Honey Nut, Cinnamon, Multi-grain, the short lived Apple-Cinammon, Chocolate. I live for those round little O’s of greatness.

D is for Donuts : What kind do you fancy?

I never eat donuts – we’re talking maybe a few times a year? But my choice has always been an Old Fashioned Donut with Chocolate frosting. Just something about it!

E is for Eggs: How do you like yours prepared?

In a scramble with Parmesan cheese (try it with eggs, it will change your life), TJs Applewood Smoked Turkey Bacon, and a Whole Wheat English muffin. Was the question not : Favorite meal of all time?

F is for Fat Free – What is your favorite Fat Free Product?

I try to eat “real” foods – regardless if there’s some healthy fat in them or not (everything in moderation!) Calories don’t count on your birthday right? Final answer: any/everything I eat on November 16! 😉

G is for Groceries: Where do you purchase yours?

90% of my grocery shopping is done at Trader Joe’s with the occasional “I forgot” at Safeway and the “I feel like spending my entire paycheck” on goodies at Whole Foods

H is for Hot Beverages: What is your favorite hot drink?

Grande Skinny Vanilla Latte @ Starbucks. A few mos ago my daily $3.95 Latte habit was getting a bit out of control (and wreaking havoc on my monthly budget), so a Keurig was purchased and now, black coffee has made its way to a close second.

I is for Ice Cream. Favorite flavor and topping?

Breyers Cookies and Cream or Vanilla Bean – with plenty of rainbow sprinkles! (You didn’t know I have the taste buds of a 5-year old?)

J is for Jams or Jellies: Do you eat them?

Strawberry and Grape are my favorites – on a PB&J! Chocolate Milk on the side please.

K is for Kashi! Name your favorite Kashi product?

Kashi Go Lean Crisp! Toasted Berry Crumble – amazing with milk, in Greek Yogurt, or scooped out of the box by the handful!

L is for Lunch: What was yours today?

Whole Wheat Wrap with deli sliced rotisserie chicken, Laughing Cow Garlic and Herb Wedge and a whole lotta spinach

M is for Microwave: What is your favorite microwave meal/snack?

Popcorn! (although I usually prefer the air-popped method) And pre-work egg whites that will later make up the middle of an egg sandwich for my breakfast!

N is for Nutrients: Do you like carbs, fats or proteins best?

All 3 in moderation – whole grain carbs, lean proteins, and unsaturated fats!

O is for Oil: What kind do you like to use?

Extra Virgin Olive Oil – healthy fat and tastes great in food!

P is for Protein: How do you get yours?

Mainly fish and chicken, the occasional lean cut of beef and protein shakes

Q is for Quaker: How do you like your oats?

Hold the Quaker and pass the McCanns Steel Cut Oats with a pinch of brown sugar, honey and sliced fruit on top!

R is for Roasting: What is your favorite thing to roast?

Beer. Butt. Chicken. Giggle over the name. Get a mental image. And then check out the recipe. AMAZING. (And really fun to make too – which is always a high priority on my list!) Great for Sunday nights.

S is for Sandwich: What’s your favorite kind?

Sourdough roll, sliced prosciutto, fresh mozzarella, pesto, balsamic and red onions. Preferably from an Italian Deli 🙂 The best thing about this sandwich is that it lasts me for 2 meals because after eating half, I’m stuffed!

T is for Travel: How do you handle healthy eating while traveling?

I usually bring healthy snacks along (dried fruit, protein bars, cereal, etc) and go for foods high in fiber/protein. Whenever possible I try to order a lean cut of meat/chicken/fish, or a big salad with grilled chicken. And I always have at least a bite of dessert! My meals must end on a sweet note. There’s no gettin around it! 🙂

U if for Unique: What is your weirdest food combo?

For quite a while (all through college I’d say) I was convinced I had invented the art of putting Peanut Butter on Apples. I’ll spare you the name I gave my “invention” (entirely for my sake & pride) but for a good 4 years, that was my most “unique combo”. I was a sheltered child.

V is for Vitamins: What kind do you take?

I take a Women’s Multi Vitamin daily when I can remember.

W is for Wasabi: Yay or Nay?

YAY! The spicier the better! I love dipping sushi into Wasabi and Low Sodium Soy Sauce.

X is XRAY: If we x-rayed your belly right now, what would we see?

2 Blackened shrimp skewers, grilled polenta with Marscapone cheese, and grilled artichoke halves from Asqew. Dinner. Was. Perfect.

Y is for youth: What food reminds you of your childhood?

Going skiing/snowboarding, swimming on hot summer days, black labradors (I grew up with the most perfect Black Lab, Max). Clearly I mis-read the question but now you have me thinking of summer vacations and my beloved dog and I’m just going to keep it 🙂

Z is for zucchini: How do you prepare it?

Will you judge me if I say I avoid preparing it at all costs because I really don’t like it? No? Ok then, it’s settled. I don’t. 🙂

Hope you learned a little something about me or just got some entertainment value out of all my picky eating quirks! I’m off to get some sleep, hope you have a great night!

4 thoughts on “A-Z’s of F-o-o-d

  1. Pingback: Friday Faves! « runningonhungrydotcom

  2. It’s funny how your attempt at being “cool” and “with it” by using a flat-out dumb term like “EVOO” has made this otherwise decent post look so horribly quaint and dated.

Leave a Reply

